Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and Evocative, 14 Nov 2012
By 
RobW (Hertfordshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
As the blurb on the back cover tells us, this book represents "the fruits of more than three decades of research and excavation" by Barry Kemp. The sense of proximity to the subject - in several senses but including that of of having lived through and even become part of the history of the site - is conveyed throughout. Detailed description and analysis are complemented by forceful and memorable commentary. For example, "Akhenaten moved to Armana with a plan in his mind and a clean expanse of desert on which to develop it."

Proximity has not taken the author too close to his subject. There is also dispassionate judgement. He rightly points out that the images we are used to seeing of ancient Egypt emphasise everything that was "gigantic and wonderful". However, this book is as clear about what was more limited, apparently fairly arbitrary and, indeed, even after many years of excavation and exploration, still very little understood.

If I were to quibble, I suppose a criticism could be that one or two of the photographs are less than fully clear in the way they have been reproduced or taken in the first place. However, my overall response is one of respect for what Kemp has achieved at Amarna and how it is conveyed in this book. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Akhetaten comes to life, 31 Oct 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
I pre-ordered this book knowing that I would not be dissapointed, and infact it has surpassed my best expectations. Among many books about the Armarna period, this stands out in it's great attention to the facts and details as we know them. And as a previous reviewer has written, it is not dry as dust list of facts and figures. Barry Kemp cuts through the conjecture and often outright weird nonsense surrounding Akhenaten and his city, and presents us with a believable living city populated by real people. I think the general reader will get as much from this book as the Armarna specialists, and this is mostly due to Barry Kemp's writing style and the humane way he treats his subject. There is a fascinating section about how the city may have smelt, yet he makes this otherwise mundane and esoteric matter very readable. And for the Atenists out there, yes, I know you exist, Kemp does address, very clearly and with some insight, the issue of the Aten and religion. There are also very good and clear illustrations, some in colour, of the city as a whole, individual buildings and even the reality of how the so very perfectly close fitting clothes depicted in Armana art would have looked on a person in reality, less than flattering. When it comes to the murky, curious, bizarre and contentious world of Akhenaten, very often the books by Donald Redford and Cyril Aldred are used as references. I contend that this sharply focused and very well written book by Barry Kemp, surpases both by some distance as regards Akhetaten, and reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book!, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
This could have been a dry as dust report on what Professor Kemp has discovered at Amarna over the years. It is not! Some of the writing is almost poetic, and the author is so honest about what we still do not know. There is no mystique here, but a fascinating description about what we know and reasonably surmise about the fascinating site. It is not for beginners, but to readers who found the books on Akhenaten by Cyril Aldred and Nicholas Reeves fascinating, this will be a gripping read. Like all the Thames and Hudson Egyptology books, this is beautifully bound and presented.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Based firmly on Historical Evidence, 6 Jan 2013
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
This is the best book I have read in a long time.

Admittedly I began the book hoping for some clarification of the theories about the royal family. What Kemp presents instead - and presents exceedingly well - is a full and dynamic report of the internal goings on in the city of Amarna based on archaeological evidence. Instead of a list of 'maybes' and 'perhaps's', this is a masterpiece of fact written by an expert. It's readable Egyptology that an interested amateur (like me!) could follow.

Kemp takes us through what life in Amarna might have been like; daily life, its religious aspects, the way that normal people regarded the Aten and the reasons for the removal of the court from Thebes. It is written clearly and concisely throughout. Instead of being a book of conspiracies and guesses, this is a book of facts based upon more than thirty years of study and excavation.

Whilst I wish that there had been a little bit more information about the intriguing Queen Tiye, this book is a rare treat - I couldn't put it down!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amarna history, 30 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
Finally a book that just tells you everything you want to know ,without the need to make ridiculous statements ie Akhenaten was , gender confused ,a madman , an alien I've heard and unfortunately read them all . The definitive book on an fascinating period in Egyptian history .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER MASTERPIECE from Berry Kemp, 3 April 2013
By 
Mr. A. M. Patel (London. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
I absolutley enjoyed this book. Pre ordered it and was waiting eagerly for months. I was not disappointed at all. As with Berry Kemp's other books this one kept
me engrossed throughout the book from start to finish.
Master of his subject on Amarna has done it again and his years of hardwork and excavtions and his most intimate knowedgle shines through . His language and presentation is SPOT ON. Quality of photos, colours, binding is brilliant.

I thoroughly RECOMMEND this book to all ancient egypt lovers, especially AMARNA PERIOD.

5 ***** stars from me and well deserved too.

Cant wait to read his next masterpiece. Well done Berry Kemp.Keep up the good work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amarna, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
Wonderfully informative book on the fascinating City of Amarna written by the expert, Barry Kemp. A must for those interested
in this colourful time in Egpyts ancient history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egypt, 16 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
Knew I'd love it because Barry Kemp is my hero. Anyone interested in Egypt (particularly the whole Akhenaten/Nefertitii/new reliigion/monotheistm) should read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars archaeology, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
My pet topic; a great book from the leading person in the field. Thoroughly enjoyable book, which represents the overview of his long work and dedication to Amarna. Highly recommendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars City of Akhenaten & Nefertiti, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. S. Mackenzie Smith (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity) (Hardcover)
Fascinating book about a fascinating subject. A lot of detail but the dig has been going on for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac793024)

This product

The City of Akhenaten and Nefertiti: Amarna and its People (New Aspects of Antiquity)
Used & New from: 239.69
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews