Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real gem, 18 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
I purchased this book as a Christmas present for someone who loves anything to do with history, architecture and in particular standing stones. In fact he has seen most, but not all, of the standing stones in the UK. The book unfortunately did not arrive in time for Xmas, so I presented it to him as a New Year's gift. He absolutely loved it. The pictures are amazing. It must have taken the photographer months on end to get the right shot. They are beautifully presented and the text is so easy to read and understand. My friend loved the book and has vowed to visit some of the sites referred to in the book which he has not been to. There were even some he had not heard of. Thoroughly recommend this, even for someone who normally has no interest in this kind of thing. Would also make an excellent coffee table book. Thoroughly recommend this book. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standing with stones, 12 July 2013
By 
MISS JK WEST (Newcastle upon Tyne) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
I bought 'Standing with Stones' after being fascinated by a visit to Castlerigg stone circle in the Lake District. I had no prior knowledge of the subject but with its beautiful photos, and thought provoking descriptions I was very quickly enthral led by all things stone! The book is separated by region and all of the sites are shown on a map at the beginning of the book and have a map reference, which is helpful for anyone wishing to visit the sites. It includes stone circles, cairns, standing stones, rock art and more. This book has been a great starting point for me and I look forward to investigating some of the sites in more depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great photos, 21 April 2009
By 
D&D - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
I received this as a gift, although it was the DVD I had asked for. Despite that, I was very pleased: gorgeous pictures of many different standing stones throughout Britain, both well-known and virtually unknown, together with interestingly intelligent and practical commentary on the site and immediate area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book should be required reading in schools., 21 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
Passionate, informative, beautifully illustrated, lovingly researched and told. This is the ultimate book for the armchair enthusiast and the more actively involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning pictures of our historic stones., 17 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
A really wonderful book to accompany the DVD journey made by Rupert Soskin. Having visited and photographed many of the sites featured myself, I can say that the pictures capture the ambiance and power of these wonderful stones, accompanied by Rupert's realistic and humourous comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Standing with Stones:A Photographic Journey through Megalithic Britain and Ireland, 5 Jun 2009
By 
B. Hales (Ceredigion. Wales.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
I think this book is very well produced. The photographs are good, and very interesting, helping to convey the fascination for these structures which I already hold. The book encourages further reading and exploration. I had trouble in putting it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Why only the OS reference given?, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
Very nice book but the only directions given to find the stones etc is by the OS reference (which is needed for quite a lot of the monuments) but it would be helpfull to give vllage and street names as quite a few are near a road or on a farm. OS maps are expensive and not everyone has instant internet access everywhere. We found one quite by accident thinking it was very remote (given the description in the book) when in fact it was just off the road. The village is not named in the book nor the street name. With this it would have been really easy to locate!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Super, 18 Aug 2014
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
This is a super book and just what I expected after watching the series. Great service thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Oct 2014
By 
R Rice "Richard Rice" (Middlesbrough, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
Dad loved it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as simple as that, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland (Hardcover)
Ok you cannt get the video, so get the book. Overall its an excellent presentation, grat phots, loads of facts and trivia.

Yes could have more depth, greater illustrations. But you know what, the book doesnt need it.

I now want to get the video, anyone know of a uk version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Standing with Stones: A Photographic Journey Through Megalithic Britain and Ireland
£15.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews