Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rule Britannia
A well written and detailed account of Britain from the Iron Age,immediatly before the Roman Conquest to the end of Roman Britain, when it was a case of "Everyone to themselves".The book has many photographs both colour and black and white together with re-constructions of how it may have looked. The book covers a wide range of topics, Slavery, tombstones, coins, the army...
Published on 14 Nov 2007 by Hobo

versus
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A need to speculate?
This has merits as general picture of Roman Britain. It avoids the pitfall often seen in modern books and television of judging the Romans by modern standards of human rights, rather than by the standards of neighbouring peoples in either time or space. There is a feeling of appreciation for the positive sides of Roman civilisation, and the best parts of the book tend to...
Published on 27 July 2010 by S. G. Raggett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Rule Britannia, 14 Nov 2007
By 
Hobo (Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Roman Britain: A New History (Hardcover)
A well written and detailed account of Britain from the Iron Age,immediatly before the Roman Conquest to the end of Roman Britain, when it was a case of "Everyone to themselves".The book has many photographs both colour and black and white together with re-constructions of how it may have looked. The book covers a wide range of topics, Slavery, tombstones, coins, the army etc.The Boudiccan revolt even suggests that it is possible that Boudica was only a "bit player", more of a figurehead for the revolt. The book is a useful addition for student and armchair historian alike in this most interesting period of our nations history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Look at the Province of Britannia, 8 Aug 2008
By 
D. Evans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roman Britain: A New History (Hardcover)
Guy De La Bedoyere might be familiar to some for his infrequent appearances on Channel 4's Time Team. He is both a historian and an archaeologist, and therefore has some sound grounding in both fields, which is not to mention that he has already published thirteen books on this subject.

This title however is a New History of Roman Britain, making full use of some of the recent archaeological discoveries made in the field, as well as the most relevant discussions amongst historians and scholars.

The book is accessible and readable, and seems to be aimed at the layperson as well as the expert. The book is filled with up to 285 illustrations including photographs, maps and paintings.
It follows the history of Britain, from the Pre-Roman Iron Age tribes, to Caesar and later Claudius's invasions of the country. Along the way we learn about Suetonius Paulinius's conquest of Wales, Julius Agricola's campaigns in Scotland, Boudica's rebellion, Hadrian's Wall, the later campaigns of the Emperor Septimius Severus, the breakaway 'British' Empire of Allectus and Carausius, as well as Roman Britain before its fall.

Yet the book is much more than a chronological tour of the province. Bedoyere also describes life in Britain under the Romans. From the governing of the province, the army and the forts, the towns with their public baths, theatres and forums, industry and commerce, the countryside and the villas, as well as religion and the ordinary lives of the Romano-British citizens.

This book could be seen as the modern heir to the seminal 'A Companion to Roman Britain' by Peter Clayton. The only downside to this book is that, unlike Clayton's book, it does not contain an up-to-date gazetteer of Roman sites. Still, with that minor problem aside, this is probably the most readable and most up-to-date account of Roman Britain published. A good starting point for beginners, and a useful update for experts. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Readable and engaging, 9 Sep 2011
Well written, nicely illustrated and I liked the thematic organisation of material into chapters. I think one of the things I especially liked (and this may say more about my prior knowledge of the Romans in Britain) is that it gave a real sense of how LONG the Roman occupation lasted and that things changed quite a lot over time.
As a non-specialist I'm unable to comment on how accurate and authoritative the text is, but I liked the way it acknowledged that there are differences of opinion and that our understanding of the history of Roman Britain and interpretation of artefacts has changed over time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very readable, 11 July 2010
By 
Helpless "Helpless" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very readable, a modern interpretation of Roman Britain.
For a reader that might be begining to dabble in this period of history it is ideal, neither too academic or too simplistic.

The reproduction of some of the illustrations could be better and I am not entirely convinced that the maps are as good as they could be.

400 years of Roman occupation, it is a good book and worth a read.

Credit to the author in making it so readable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good overall, 25 Mar 2008
By 
M. Notman "northernfag" (sheffield uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Roman Britain: A New History (Hardcover)
This is a good synopsis of the current (i must say one of many) view of the romans in britain, and unlike some of the others its well written and readable (despite what the increasingly right wing current archaeology says about it). He may be a bit annoying on the TV but Guy de la Bedoyere knows his onions. Im glad to see hes also taking more notice of the smaller less spectacular sites that made up most of the roman provinces rather than giving us a 300 page lecture on legionary bases or villas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Jan 2012
By 
Dismal Angel "Ash" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my father's Christmas and he admitted to it being an enjoyable read. The book is alot larger than I had expected (about the size of an A4 sheet of paper and a few inches thick). Full of pictures, diagrams, and easy to absorb information, this is just a great reference book and is packed with information.

I'd never heard of the author before but have been since told that the author is actually one of the frequent experts who appear on television series 'Time Team'. A great gift for history enthusiasts or a great treat for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A need to speculate?, 27 July 2010
By 
S. G. Raggett (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This has merits as general picture of Roman Britain. It avoids the pitfall often seen in modern books and television of judging the Romans by modern standards of human rights, rather than by the standards of neighbouring peoples in either time or space. There is a feeling of appreciation for the positive sides of Roman civilisation, and the best parts of the book tend to relate to the everyday and economic life of the country.

The less satisfactory aspect of the book is an unwillingness to come to terms with the fragmentary nature of both written and archaeological evidence, which does seem to require a degree of reasoned speculation as to what might have been happening. No reasons are suggested for the switch of focus from towns to villas in the 3rd and 4th century. The possibility of Gnosticism in Britain is raised but not pursued. While there has been an accumulation of evidence for a greater degree of continuity into the post-Roman period, instances of this are dismissed as exceptions rather than being properly discussed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Roman Britain: Guy de la Bedoyere, 11 May 2010
By 
C. Whiteway - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This new book is excellent, combining factual information with specifics about how we know. This reference to archaeology and texts is just what my A Level students need, but is also informative for the general interested reader. Chapters are well organised, layout is clear and modern, and there are many colour pictures which bring the text to life.
Cathy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable and informative, 1 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you are interested in Roman Britain this is for you. It covers the whole of the roman time in Britain from start to finish. Easy reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A modern book on the years the Romans ruled Britain, 18 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a great modern book on Roman Britain. There is bags of up to date detail, and Guy doesn't shirk the areas where there is little or no info.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Roman Britain: A New History
Roman Britain: A New History by Guy de la Bédoyère (Hardcover - 10 April 2006)
Used & New from: £12.87
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews