Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


93 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt
On opening the cover of this Book,I little realised it would be so hard to put down again, seduced by lavish illustrations and a very understandable format of what is after all a very diverse, though interesting subject, yes there are many other books on the market covering this subject, we can all argue about Egyptian religion,but I feel this book is a sound fountation...
Published on 24 May 2003 by A J Simpson

versus
6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good book but too detailed
This is a very good book. No doubt. Very detailed and packed with information. But for my purpose, it's too packed with information. I just wanted a book to read up on all the Gods without going into too much detail. I came back from a holiday in Egypt and was intrigued by Egyptian mythology. So, very good if you are studying the subject, but not very useful if you want...
Published on 28 Oct 2009 by Angry Hippo


Most Helpful First | Newest First

93 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt, 24 May 2003
By 
A J Simpson (Stranaer, Wigtownshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
On opening the cover of this Book,I little realised it would be so hard to put down again, seduced by lavish illustrations and a very understandable format of what is after all a very diverse, though interesting subject, yes there are many other books on the market covering this subject, we can all argue about Egyptian religion,but I feel this book is a sound fountation for anybody with that initial interest in this subject,It makes a worthy addition to the rest of the Thames and Hudson series, if you only ever buy one book on Egyptian religion look no further
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW !!!, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
Bought this for my 16 year old as a Christmas present. She LOVED it, but then again she is Egypt-mad !!
The book is packed full of information, text, hieroglyphs, pictures. Would recommend to anyone who is the least bit interested in Egyptian history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 24 May 2009
By 
JR (East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
A well-produced, informative book. This is a good reference book which keeps rigidly to its brief without speculating on any of the populist stories which may be told by egyptology guides.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent starting point., 17 Oct 2011
By 
Rune Olsen (Copenhagen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
An excellent starting point for the new egyptologist and other researchers this book presents the most popular and visible gods of Ancient Egypt.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 Sep 2013
By 
Aggeliki Arzimanoglou "darkange" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
Deep into egyptian religion, lights the way the ancient egyptians conceived of creation. Vivid images, really cared for publication and presentation/quality of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed it, 17 Feb 2009
By 
K. Vinent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
A very in-depth and textbook style look upon the Gods of Egypt. The information was very rich and it was a very good read. There were many photos involved within the book. The book was rather heavy, though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very good book but too detailed, 28 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt (Hardcover)
This is a very good book. No doubt. Very detailed and packed with information. But for my purpose, it's too packed with information. I just wanted a book to read up on all the Gods without going into too much detail. I came back from a holiday in Egypt and was intrigued by Egyptian mythology. So, very good if you are studying the subject, but not very useful if you want something to read in bed or in the toilet! The fact that it is also a hardbook doesn't help either as it is a tad heavy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt
The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt by Richard H. Wilkinson (Hardcover - 19 May 2003)
19.22
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews