Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Statistics - how it works and what it means
A thorough description of statistical theory from the fundamental premices to the major results. Progress throughout the book is carefully structured, with thought even given to the numbering of theorems and examples so that the reader feels comfortable and progress is easy to follow. There is little digression into other areas of maths, with a little vector notation...
Published on 3 July 2004 by Dr. R. J. Eastwood

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the mathematically adept
This book provides comprehensive coverage of the theoretical aspects of statistics. Initially I found the mathematics quite dense, and I don't think I would recommend this particular text for those interested in self-study, or those seeking an entry into applied statistics. I purchased this book as my current job requires a more comprehensive grounding in statistics than...
Published 16 months ago by John Cody


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Statistics - how it works and what it means, 3 July 2004
By 
Dr. R. J. Eastwood "rich41978" (Edinburgh, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Statistical Inference (Hardcover)
A thorough description of statistical theory from the fundamental premices to the major results. Progress throughout the book is carefully structured, with thought even given to the numbering of theorems and examples so that the reader feels comfortable and progress is easy to follow. There is little digression into other areas of maths, with a little vector notation being as hard as it gets. As a result, the prerequisites are few and the flow is uninterrupted.
Since Amazon don't, at time of writing, have a table of contents for this book, I'll give a brief run down: Simple probability ideas - intersection/union of events, conditional probability and Bayes probability; random variables - general relationships, functions, etc.; families of distributions - normal, gamma, exponential, etc.; random sampling - theorems, implications, expectation/variance, etc.; normal random variables - implications of the particularisation of previous theories; point estimation theory - how to generate an estimator and how to judge performance; hypothesis testing - formulating and evaluating tests; interval estimation - generating confidence intervals for point estimates, relationship to hypothesis testing. There are one or two other chapters, but these are the only ones I've read thoroughly. There's no reason to believe the others aren't as impressive as these, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 'bible' of sorts., 8 Mar 2010
This review is from: Statistical Inference, International Edition (Paperback)
Statistical Inference by Casella is without doubt a classic when it comes to statistical theory. Whether you're an undergraduate or postgraduate, if you're covering statistical theory, this is the book for you.

The explanations and definitions are succinct without leaving out any of the important stuff. Additionally, the proofs and multiple examples make understanding so much more concrete.

I had always shied away from this text as many say it's an advanced graduate text and far too hard for what it's worth. Those people couldn't be more wrong! It is a hefty book and quite advanced, and if you majored in statistics, you'd be using it throughout your degree, but nonetheless it's a bible of sorts.

I've replaced all my other statistics texts with this one.

As an aside, if I had to find one fault with this text, it would be that it's chapter on regression is quite weak and doesn't make use of matrices (despite them being used elsewhere). That said, it's still more intuitive than other texts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Only for the mathematically adept, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistical Inference, International Edition (Paperback)
This book provides comprehensive coverage of the theoretical aspects of statistics. Initially I found the mathematics quite dense, and I don't think I would recommend this particular text for those interested in self-study, or those seeking an entry into applied statistics. I purchased this book as my current job requires a more comprehensive grounding in statistics than was provided by my MSc. I am happy with the purchase and I have found the text a useful reference when confronted with certain theoretical problems while establishing survey methodologies. However I think I would have found the text quite frustrating if it had been my introduction to the discipline, especially as it does not cover statistical analysis using established software packages in any great depth. I think it would require a lot of commitment if one was to try to use this text to learn the fundamentals of statistical analysis. It is not a text that you can easily navigate to answers using the TOC or the index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and easy to follow, 1 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistical Inference, International Edition (Paperback)
This textbook has all you would need for an undergraduate maths/stats course and more. If you are learning the material for the first time then I would recommend reading the book in order or at least start from the beginning of each chapter and not jump about. The book follows a very calculated and linear format and does not allow random switching between pages to learn the content as most lecture notes as you to do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Burn the book, 15 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Statistical Inference, International Edition (Paperback)
This is probably the "bible" of Statistical inference. However, from a students point of view it is, in my opinion, worth little more than the heat you can get from burning it. This text seems to be written by professors for professors with professors in mind. The book is extremely terse and the author bothers little in helping the student understand the subtleties of the arguments in proofs and examples, many of which are hard to follow, are extremely subtle, terse, and assume you have a very excellent knowledge of what has been written in earlier chapters. So unless you have acquired and encyclopedic knowledge of the earlier parts of the book and the numbering of Theorems and examples you will find yourself looking backwards and forwards to find what example or theorem 1.2.3.4, which you may have studied months ago, said.

The author only grudgingly and occasionally provides the poor reader with hints as to how to get from one step in an agreement to the next. Worse still some of the proofs are not clearly delineated as such and you have to be extremely alert to work out how some of the theorems are arrived at. In some cases the proof is given in un-delineated text before the statement of the proof causing considerable confusion.

The typography is completely unhelpful (the first edition was better) and a dyslexic's nightmare. All of the examples are quite abstract.

The author indulges in the irritating and unhelpful practice of leaving numerous aspects "as an exercise" or as one of the numerous exercises in the book of which there are a large number. A cardinal sin in my opinion. These exercise are also extremely subtle in places. The is an on line solutions manual for the exercises, however, in the style of the book these are extremely terse and hard to follow.

The first half of the book contains a treatment of probability. This contains a superficial treatment of Boreal fields which is completely unsatisfactory and really should have been left out. The second half a treatment of inference proper.

The author seems to have forgotten that the purpose of a text book is to communicate with the reader and help them understand. This book makes the process of understanding statistical inference, which is not easy in the first place, even harder as you have to decode his style and method of presentation. This may well be a bible of Statistical Inference, but, you will have to learn the Statistical equivalent of ancient Greek to understand it.

You may conclude that I do not like this book, and you would be right. The frightening thing is that there appears to be no alternative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Text Book/Handbook in Statistical Inference, 31 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Statistical Inference (Hardcover)
This is a crucially important text book. I use it frequently for my references in my field. It is my 'classical' text book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Statistical Inference, 5 Jan 2011
This review is from: Statistical Inference, International Edition (Paperback)
A slight North American bias can rapidly be overcome.

This book should only be considered as part of a taught course: do not try to read this on your own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A student point of view, 18 Mar 2007
This review is from: Statistical Inference (Hardcover)
I don't like the book. The explenations are not organized. It goes on and on about a concept with out get to the right point. But it is a complete book. But personally i would have like to have some other book like Probability and Statistical Inference the 6th edition. Even if it's not as compelete.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Statistical Inference, International Edition
Statistical Inference, International Edition by George Casella (Paperback - 7 Jun 2008)
£63.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews