Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£50.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 January 2002
this book is essential for every psychology student embarking into the daunting field of statistics. its fun to read, there is sufficient detail to let you understand the ideas and it has lots of exercises...
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2011
This is a fantastic book for introducing statistics for psychology, and many other social sciences. The book covers any topic you would ever need, including basic hypothesis testing, correlation, ANOVAs and many non-parametric tests (this is only the tip of the iceberg in terms of topics covered). Each topic is split into decent sized chapters where is concept is explained in depth, and is then accompanied by hand worked calculations which are exceptionally clear to follow. Some chapters also show how to interpret SPSS output for some statistical tests, showing exactly how to interpret it and how to write the statistics up in APA format which academic journals use. I should note that the SPSS sections do not explain how to run the SPSS tests, but simply interpreting the output so do not buy this thinking it is an SPSS manual. Additionally, there are questions (with answers) at the end of each chapter so you can see how well you have understood the concepts. Overall, this is probably the best stats book out there, and the clarity and depth at which this book goes, means that for psychology and the social sciences, this will likely be the only book you will ever need.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2001
It has provided a lot of help with the statistics module in Psychology, and has explained in enough detail. It is especially helpful for those who had not done statistics before.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2014
I reviewed this once before. What cubby hole in limbo did it end up in?

Anyway...a super introduction to statistics. Howell is totally outstanding at explaining things.

Way too many typos though. His editors get low marks from me. Even so, a great book. (Howell has a lot of great stuff on his website too.)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2013
Arrived really quickly (much quicker than expected!) and in perfect condition. The text itself is less 'entertaining' than others stats books (e.g. Andy Field), but gives more detail and I find it easier to follow, as I don't get distracted by the examples..!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
Very useful but I had to use other books to explain SPSS properly. However, in my opinion, this book explained SPSS the best out of all of the books I have. Very glad I bought it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2010
I ordered the book 2 days before and it came via royal mail recorded signed for delivery securely and in good condition a day before the expected date of despatch. Excellent!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2013
Simple and clear introduction to statistics, I couldn't have wished for more. Thank you David Howell for having written such a helpful text.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2012
Ordreed this book for my MSc module from Amazon as it was cheaper than buying it direct from the publisher. Unfortuantley it never arrived in the post which menat I didn;t have the book in time for the start of my model and so had to go an buy it at fall price from the Uni Book Shop.

Having read and used this book I wouldn't recomend it to anyone. It's writting style is terrible and difficult to follow and it relys on the reader being able to understand very hard mathematical equations without offering nay explanations. There are much better stats books on the market than this. Avoid this one and go for either Andy Fields or Hugh Collican, both of who make stats fun and accessable to all.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2014
Dieses Buch ist voll das was ich erwartet habe. deshalb fünf Sterne
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse