Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Starts off nice and easy... then goes quite deep!, 22 Sep 2006
By 
M. Appleton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Introduction to Graph Theory (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
Although it's an "introduction", this gem of a book ends up in some quite deep territory. Trudeau starts off with some basic definitions of set theory concepts and then moves forward to define graphs in those terms.

Concepts such as planarity, connectedness, polygonality and colourings are quickly and smoothly reached, and the back end of the book covers genuses (which I thought was pretty incongruous for an "introduction"). Proofs of the Five Colour Theorem and the Heawood Colouring Theorem are included, as well as demonstrations of Euler's Formulae and Kuratowski's Theorem.

Trudeau's style is completely non-indimidating and patient - almost conversational - and he conveys a real enjoyment of the subject. Non-mathematicians will be able to follow almost all of his arguments quite easily and, for this reason above all others, he deserves 5 stars.

P.S. I spotted quite a large howler towards the end of the book: the Four Colour Theorem is stated as having "just been proved" - it was proven in 1977, which goes to show how old this book is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction to graph theory, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Graph Theory (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
Having never encountered graph theory before, I decided to purchase this book. It is a delight to read, and progresses very gently through the subject. The author has targted this book at people who don't necessarily want to get bogged down with heavy math jargon, and any jargon delivered is introduced very nicely with great explanations.

The book is a small paperback so very transportable. A dedicated reader could probably swallow the contents of this book in a few days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted or novice but good for someone trying to get beyond novice or A ..., 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not for the faint hearted or novice but good for someone trying to get beyond novice or A level graph theory. Having some knowledge of proofs and undergrad discrete maths will help.However, when I revisit my graph algorithms in computer science I found I had a better understanding than before purchasing the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Clear exposition of an unusual aspect of maths, accessible to lay readers, 28 May 2013
By 
M. F. Cayley (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Graph Theory (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
Graph theory normally receives little if any attention at school but is an interesting subject with a range of practical applications. This is an extremely lucid introduction, requiring very little previous mathematical knowledge - just elementary arithmetic - and is readily comprehensible to non-specialists. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very well written and explained, 4 Mar 2013
By 
ab..c (england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Graph Theory (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
* Physical

This book's pages are in standard paperback paper and its graphs and text are in B&W. The binding is very good for a paperback and stands up to opening and closing the book due to reading the same pages repeatedly. And I do mean you will need to go over bits again and again.

* Topics

This PURE MATH book is a new topic to me, although I have read a good book before (See another of my reviews). So you can guess that I am not a expert in this domain of Pure Mathematics! The whole development in this book is to avoid a too steep increase in difficulty at any particular point in the development of the topic. It begins to explain from a educated level of a non too involved standpoint, that is geometry / functions and there potential isomorphism's. I was surprised that Graph Theory is nothing to do with graphing function's! (p 12) Its to do with collection of sets and inter - relationships of information. The topics worked into are as follows; Graphs, Planar Graphs, Euler's Formula, Platonic Graphs, Coloring, The Genus of a Graph, Euler Walks and Hamiltonian Walks, and some solutions and concluded with the famous 7 bridges of Konigsberg problem.

* The way to help understanding

The book is well filled with Definitions to help your quotations of information. You have to see the graphs as the text descriptions would be too clumsily copied by myself. To make you aware of the type of definitions that are peppered throughout this grand book, I have selected 2 out of many definitions to test your interests in this arena of pure Math.

(p 64, Definition 18) 'A graph is planar if it is isomorphic to the graph that has been drawn in a plane without edge-crossings. Otherwise it is a nonplanar.'

When learning this area, the need to check the graphs to carefully count of vertices and edges. Its helpful when learning to see the extraction of information from the graph. The fun is increased when two or more separate graphs are linked together to add connections to data, in a 'supergraphs'(part of a bigger graph) or 'subgraphs', (a smaller group within a graph). Although as the author explains, Euler avoided the requirement to draw what could be a VERY involved graph and then the need to count the vertices, the 'dots', and the 'edges', the lines between the dots, into a simple - to - handle equation. Its SO impressive when its realized the graphics could be amazingly grand and could have been very involved and to avoid drawing is a blessing!

* Development of Graph Theory, based on previous reading of this book

(Definition 21 'A 'walk' is a sequences A1 A2 A3...An, of not necessarily distinct vertices in which A1 is joined by an edge to A2 and is joined by an edge A3... and A(n-1) by an edge An'.

More fun involves a relationship of a isomorphic data in the form of a not necessarily distinct or obvious vertices and edges within a graph. The book later develops into 'Platonic' graphs solids that is greatly helped with the graphs showing the geometric figures, trust me you need the book to follow it! The great descriptive stuff is the 4 - color problems is described and broadly worked out using the Appel - Haken proof. (see page 127 - 139)

* Summary

This book is stiffer than some at this level, but the connectivity between concepts is denser. So the incline in difficulty is partially camouflaged. You have to stick with it and have some fun. You do not need to crank your mind through every bit, but its a fine book to learn from. In fact I am going to read it again and better my grasp of this topic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 31 Oct 2010
This review is from: Introduction to Graph Theory (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
Nice and clean introduction to graph theory. Very useful to everyone that is starting on this subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars it ok, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Introduction to Graph Theory (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
It is a very cheap product and e very good tool for the very begginners on graph thepry. it has the most of the basic definitions and graphs. If you are a beginner this is for you. If you are going further to Graph theory this book is not going to be helpfu;
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Introduction to Graph Theory (Dover Books on Mathematics)
Introduction to Graph Theory (Dover Books on Mathematics) by Richard J. Trudeau (Paperback - 17 Mar 2003)
£10.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews