Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is more
A book of small proportions that contains a wealth of knowledge.
Well worth buying for any a level student or ,indeed, for anyone who is interested in the world around them.
Most of the problems are old chestnuts but are dealt with in a way that is accessible to anyone with a modicum of mathematical grounding.Terrific value.
Published on 27 Jun 2011 by Kenneth A. Morley

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable
The content is good but in Kindle format many of the fractions are neither 'text' nor 'images'. They are very small and cannot be expanded. To give an indication of size, in the largest font a full stop or a dot on a letter i covers approximatley the same area as each pair of numbers in (37/38)36. The fraction is on two lines with horizontal line and 'to 36th power'...
Published 13 months ago by GeoS


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is more, 27 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Challenging Problems in Probability with Solutions (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
A book of small proportions that contains a wealth of knowledge.
Well worth buying for any a level student or ,indeed, for anyone who is interested in the world around them.
Most of the problems are old chestnuts but are dealt with in a way that is accessible to anyone with a modicum of mathematical grounding.Terrific value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 23 Nov 2011
This review is from: Fifty Challenging Problems in Probability with Solutions (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
It's what I was expecting, although I would like to find more surprises. The problems that are presented are the clclassic problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unreadable, 30 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The content is good but in Kindle format many of the fractions are neither 'text' nor 'images'. They are very small and cannot be expanded. To give an indication of size, in the largest font a full stop or a dot on a letter i covers approximatley the same area as each pair of numbers in (37/38)36. The fraction is on two lines with horizontal line and 'to 36th power' 1/2 a line above. It would easily fit inside the zero of 0.383 which it equals (page 22). How did I read it?. With a 4x (2.5") magnifying glass.
This is a credit to the Kindle device in that it can resolve such small detail but if you wish to read the book without the use of a magnifying glass get the paperback.
This is not the only Kindle book with this problem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good rendition of the usual probability problems, 3 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Challenging Problems in Probability with Solutions (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
I did try the Kindle version. My advice, avoid. Buy the paperback book instead and save yourself a lot of head scratching.

This isn't a recent book, so that might put off a few. For the price it is worth a read and perhaps it will open a few minds into some of the basic probability problems that have been around for a very, very long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book is good, "Kindleisation" less so., 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The text of the book is good but unfortunately all equations have been rendered in a way which does not enlarge with font size and I had great difficulty reading exponents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 27 Jun 2013
By 
Saurabh Rao (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Challenging Problems in Probability with Solutions (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
Problems are interesting, and challenge your thinking rather than ability to remember formulae. Answers are (usually) well explained. There are a few problems that could do with some improving, but with 50 to choose from, the odd miss can be excused
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine little book, 6 Jan 2013
By 
Hans L. Pecseli (Scandinavia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Challenging Problems in Probability with Solutions (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
This is a fine little book. The problems are well formulated, covering a wide range, and with detailed solutions that can be used also in class. The nice point is, in my opinion, that a reader like me is actually interested in the problems and their solutions. Some are relatively easy, several quite complicated. Highly recommended as supplementary literature. For class use it will, however, be necessary to find also other material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oldie but a goodie, 3 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Challenging Problems in Probability with Solutions (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
This is a very old book. The solutions refer to log tables - and you have to be old like me to remember those horrible things (and here is a math puzzle - why are the lower number pages much more used than the higher ones?) The answer style by the author is 1960's too - not always fathomable (which is probably why I didn't understand them when I was at school). Though the puzzles are still good and there are a couple of good original ones this is dated and books by Eastaway Haigh (the Master!) and Du Sutoy are written for everyone to understand.
It is still good value for the cost and worth a read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Arrived on time, and is as advertised., 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fifty Challenging Problems in Probability with Solutions (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
Arrived on time, and is as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fifty Challenging Problems in Probability with Solutions (Dover Books on Mathematics)
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews