Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
As the other reviewer said, this is an excellent book. Smullyan's style is engaging and entertaining. The riddles are excellent, and follow a learning curve that means you can actually learn to cope with them as you go through the book (well, so long as you have a mind for these things, I guess). From the first puzzle (two roads, 1 leads to safety and the other one to...
Published on 26 Nov. 2007 by Daniel Tenner

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated
I was looking for something to excite and stimulate a very bright 12 year-old; something to sharpen his mind as the youngest member of his Area's Maths Challenge Team. It was too old-fashioned and with insufficient maths-focused stimulation
Published 10 months ago by Peter Goodpronk


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 26 Nov. 2007
By 
Daniel Tenner (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As the other reviewer said, this is an excellent book. Smullyan's style is engaging and entertaining. The riddles are excellent, and follow a learning curve that means you can actually learn to cope with them as you go through the book (well, so long as you have a mind for these things, I guess). From the first puzzle (two roads, 1 leads to safety and the other one to death, a knave and a knight, 1 question) to the last (count dracula's castle, filled with crazy and sane vampires, humans and other assorted logical monsters, 3 questions to find out if dracula's alive), you will learn to progressively twist your mind further and further out of shape until your friends kick you out of the pub for throwing one too many fiendish puzzle at them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Logicians Welcome!, 11 Feb. 2006
I cannot believe that no-one else has written a review of this book. It is a little gem, and opens up a world of mathematical logic for the casual reader. Smullyan has a sense of the ridiculous, and his world of lazy islanders, Count Dracula, Werewolves and others brighten what could be a dry subject in the hands of other authors.
Now, if you will excuse me, I am trying to remember the words taught to me by lions which, if uttered will completely stop everything in the worl...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars read this book and spin your brain, 19 Jan. 2014
By 
Mr. Raymond J. Mallia "distributed man" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What is the Name of This Book?: The Riddle of Dracula and Other Logical Puzzles (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
I wish i could live in the same world as Raymond Smullyan! How does he get the time to think up these conundrums? Well, mostly it is his day job, and he gets paid to chat about these things to other academics. But what conversations! How i would love to be there. All of these problems are about language and how we use it, especially the words "true" and "false" and "lie", and about how complicated things can get if you think about those words hard enough -- while being far from dryasdust. you are drawn into a world where you have to think of a way of checking that your travelling companion is not a vampire, where you have a logical proof that Santa Claus exists, and Inspector Craig of Scotland Yard shows you how to analyse the meagre facts you have on suspects. My advice is buy this book, and lend it to nobody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully entertaining, 17 Jan. 2014
This review is from: What is the Name of This Book?: The Riddle of Dracula and Other Logical Puzzles (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
I have brought several copies of this book for myself and friends. Written in a warm and light style it engages the reader and makes them think... This is also an enteratining book to share with children as it will help them develop a reasoning ability under a cloak of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What is the Name of This Book?: The Riddle of Dracula and Other Logical Puzzles (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
i am absolutely delighted that Dover have re-printed this and others of Smullyan's books. Fabulous and challenging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic one, 17 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What is the Name of This Book?: The Riddle of Dracula and Other Logical Puzzles (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
Excellent book. It scales perfectly until you acquire a strong background on logic riddles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Dec. 2014
By 
rod instrall (Chesham, Bucks, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What is the Name of This Book?: The Riddle of Dracula and Other Logical Puzzles (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
It's a Christmas present. It should go down well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A logical journey, 28 Jan. 2010
Excellent collection of logic puzzles, starting simple and gradually bending your mind more and more, while offering clear explanation along the way. By the end you will be able to negotiate with all manner of lying and insane mythical creatures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little book of fun logic. Reissue immediately!, 18 April 2011
By 
Mr. A. P. Lloyd "efctony" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Surely in the days of print on demand Penguin could exploit their back catalogue a little more.

A collection of very enjoyable logic puzzles that, despite being fun, are rigorous and take you to some interesting little parts of logic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dated, 27 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: What is the Name of This Book?: The Riddle of Dracula and Other Logical Puzzles (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
I was looking for something to excite and stimulate a very bright 12 year-old; something to sharpen his mind as the youngest member of his Area's Maths Challenge Team. It was too old-fashioned and with insufficient maths-focused stimulation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews