Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
36
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2010
If you want to begin Fairisle knitting (or, like me, are a knitter of many years standing) this is the only book you'll need. Full of stimulating pictures, fascintaing text and excellent charts, it's more than just a 'how to' for reading a Fairisle pattern, it's also a wonderful design source book.

I strongly suspect this book will become worn out quickly here!
55 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 August 2010
As a long established fair isle knitter I found this book well written, well laid out and very instructive.
The patterns were beautiful and the history very interesting. Knitting on circular needles was unknown to me.
The methodology to make original designs to suit your needs was excellent. A great buy at a great price.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2002
Alice Starmore is a fine artist and the designs are lovely, but this book is let down by poor pattern editing. I am an experienced knitter and undertook the child's cardigan set for a girl, in the course of which I found errors in the yarn quantities (far too little of one colour necessitating reordering half way through), in the chart for the beret and also in the main directions, as well as some weird and unnecessary awkwardnesses in the shaping. Had I not had the experience to spot and adjust for the errors I would probably have abandoned the project in despair.
55 comments| 96 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2013
I bought this book because I liked the pattern and colours of the cover... Only to find out that if I wanted to do this project I had to purchase the pattern from the author's website!! As someone mentioned before, the projects in the book are outdated (baggy 80's) and instructions are only useful if your gauge is the same as the author... No measurements - only number of stitches and number of rows. I found the history of Fair Isle knitting very interesting. The book contains a good pattern library and the explanation of the Fair Isle technique is clear. There are other Fair Isle knitting books with the same clear instructions on the technique and good pattern libraries but at least they have nice and varied projects.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2011
Why, of why doesn't this type of book come in a spiral binding. The content of the book is fascinating, and the patterns lovely (once you've mastered the measuring system of creating your own patterns) but for actual physical use of the book, i.e. reading a pattern, the print is so close to the inner binding you need to squash the book fully open in order to read it. The spine will quickly become damaged if you make as much use of the book as I'm sure most people will.

All that aside, I think this book is an absolute requirement for anybody looking to extend their knowledge of Fair Isle knitting, especially creating your own garment patterns. I know most of the content can be gleaned from the internet but there is so much pleasure to be gained from holding and reading a book. Alice Starmore's style is relaxed and very much 'you can do' so that even though at first glance the drawings look rather daunting don't let that deter you - they are quite straight forward and very clearly explained by the author.

It is easy to see why this book has become a classic.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2001
This is a wonderful book about Fair Isle knitting. It has a fascinating history of the Fair Isle techniques and the lifestyle of the early knitters. There are many traditional pattern motifs and colour theory as it relates to Fair Isle. It has clear instructions on all the techniques required to knit traditional Fairisle patterns, including circular knitting, steeks, grafts, increasing, decreasing and finishing. For those who like to work from a commercial pattern there is a wonderful selection of designs to tempt you to have a go.
This is much more than just a collection of patterns, it's a knitters dream.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2010
As a fair-isle knitter of many years, and as I bought this book as a gift, it has a lot of useful information, but I think the presentations of patterns somewhat confusing. I am sure the person who was given this as a gift, will give me feed back, as they are also fair isle knitters for many years. I am not sure whether I would recomend this book to a friend though.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Well worth the money if you have a passion for this form of knitting loads of information including history, technics, colour mixes, and lots of stunning patterns. I am a reasonably experienced knitter but have learnt more from this book which is truly an inspirational.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2011
A comprehensive explanation of all a knitter needs to know about Fair Isle knitting. She includes an account of the origins of this type of knitting, detailed charts of traditional patterns and a good selection of patterns for adults and children. Well illustrated with lots of coloured photographs.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2014
As a very keen knitter I am always on the look out for good books of patterns, history of knitting, techniques etc. This book does not disappoint - it is a must have for anyone interested in fairisle and wanting to develop their own library of patterns and resource material.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)