Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars19
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 September 2009
This is a nice slim book showcasing 2 of Utagawa Kuniyoshi's (1797-1861) series of wood-block prints : Heroic biographies from the Tale Of Grand Pacification (50 prints); & The faithful samurai (51 prints).

The printing is nice & clear (on decent quality matte paper) each print taking a full page (nearly A4 size), with prints on both sides of each page. There is a short, 2 page introduction & a couple of lines of explanatory text for each print.

All the prints are as the title suggests, of samurai, some in full armour, some in battle, but most unarmoured, & some resting or preparing for battle.

Sadly the writing that fills the top section of each print is not translated (otherwise I'd give it 5 stars), but this is a nice affordable edition with some lovely prints of samurai.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2012
this book is a great tribute to the artist utawaga Kuniyoshi. the book is beautifully set out, with a peice at the beggining about how a woodblock print is designed; with various seals from artists and authors. under each print is a description of the samurai portrayed, and a sentence or two deciphering the sybolic flowers or animals also shown. in most, there is a short story behind the character's background or what battle he is fighting in. a great book. i recommend this buy
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
I agree with one of the other reviews that Japanese art is like no other and when it comes to depicting Samurai this book shows why. The illustrations are just so vivid and the expressions on the faces of these warriors is frightening and fascinating all at the same time. I particularly enjoyed looking at the illustrations of the 47 Ronin, those warriors who have become almost mythical. I think this would be a great addition to anyones library who is interested in Japan, Japanese art and of course Samurai.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
Disapointing book - unfortunately this is one of very few English publications of the great Kuniyoshi (always overlooked in favour of Hokusai or Hiroshige), and it is a slim, cheaply reproduced volume on paper barely better than a quality magazine. I guess we are spoiled by Taschen's basic art series, but I wish they would do a volume of Kuniyoshi.

The prints are great, but as the title suggests, they are limited to Samurai themes.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2009
As a long time collector of Stephen Turnbull's excellent Samurai history books, this adds something by another author that has been missing. This is a wonderful addition. As a Wargamer who likes his figures to be historically accurate, these pages are a superb reference work, and at a very reasonable price.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
Bought this book mainly for tattoo ideas. The prints often translate well.

Quality of pages are good and glossy. The prints are replicated in good detail each one is one page of A4.

If you are interested in Japanese art this is a good purchase and not too expensive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2013
This book is amazing! Much better than I had expected the notes on each image are very informative and the stance of the samurai are great drawing reference for me as a tattooist not to mention the details on the robes and weapons etc. Buy this book you will not regret it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2015
Thank you for sending so soon. I could have seen to read it so smoothly that I enjoyed to read and look Samurais of Taiheiki and Chusingura.
Japanese Samurais are very powerful and vigarous. Now Japanese are not so!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
This was bought for my son who loves anything to do with the Samurai culture. I am sure that he will love this book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
the book arrived a bit late but it is very nice and I love it !!! thanks a lot !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)