Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like being in Fred Dibnah's brain
If you are a tinkerer, hobbyist, engineer, eco-warrior, steampunk, or Fred Dibnah then this book is a fantastic reference of some basic and not-so-basic mechanical contrivances from the industrial revolution, compiled and annotated seemingly by Raffles & Bunny from the pages of Viz. I enjoy the little digs next to some illustrations such as "French version" or...
Published on 29 Aug. 2009 by J. Utteridge

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - a missed opportunity
I was hoping for something better. While there are a lot of things included in the book the diagrams are poor and indistinct. The descriptions are often not consistent with the diagrams and fail to describe the mechanisms adequately.

I came to the conclusion that the "author" had merely copied earlier work without actually bothering to review it.

The...
Published on 9 Feb. 2011 by Mr. R. Willis


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's like being in Fred Dibnah's brain, 29 Aug. 2009
By 
J. Utteridge "Jaded cynic" (Gosport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) (Paperback)
If you are a tinkerer, hobbyist, engineer, eco-warrior, steampunk, or Fred Dibnah then this book is a fantastic reference of some basic and not-so-basic mechanical contrivances from the industrial revolution, compiled and annotated seemingly by Raffles & Bunny from the pages of Viz. I enjoy the little digs next to some illustrations such as "French version" or "Improvement of Foreign design".

Very useful if you're making any sort of machinery and suffer from "Engineers block". Eco-warriors or those living the Good Life will find an invaluable collection of water wheels, fruit presses, mills, pumps, etc.

This is a slightly later, much-expanded version of 507 Mechanical Movements: Mechanisms and Devices which contains a lot more than "507", including furnaces & steam engines and even gasoline engines and electricity generators.

For the real anoraks out there, you can even spot some early mentions of engineering icons such as the original Mr Otis's patented safety elevator mechanism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun book with lots of interesting information, 2 April 2010
By 
Philip May - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) (Paperback)
This book gives informaiton about a wide range of mechanical mechanisms. I have enjoyed reading through it and it is a good reference book to have on the shelf. Having reviewed a few of this "type" of book I have found this one to be most complete and informative. Good purchase all round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating rescource of mechanical devices., 12 Oct. 2009
By 
Mr. C. Burghard "Clive Burghard" (England's South Coast.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) (Paperback)
For any Engineer, Handyman, Hobbyist, this book contains a wealth of drawings of mechanical devices from our past. Even a writer of novels, or an historian would find much of interest here, there are excellent illustrations stretching back in history for several centuries, giving an insight into both the technology of each age, and the way of life of those who built, or operated these devices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing - a missed opportunity, 9 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. R. Willis "RAW" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) (Paperback)
I was hoping for something better. While there are a lot of things included in the book the diagrams are poor and indistinct. The descriptions are often not consistent with the diagrams and fail to describe the mechanisms adequately.

I came to the conclusion that the "author" had merely copied earlier work without actually bothering to review it.

The book would have benefited from:
a larger format allowing clear diagrams
diagrams redrawn where necessary
editing by someone who really tried to understand the devices described to determine if the diagrams and descriptions were adequate.

A book covering this subject would be very useful and I hope that one day someone will do the subject justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Old stuff sold as new publications, 19 Dec. 2010
By 
Dr. M. Ruffo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) (Paperback)
I thought of buying a new book on the topic and discovered that this is the usual 1921 collection of mechanical mechanism. It's nice to look at them but I was hoping in something more modern. Description are ok for basic mechanisms,a bit light on more complex machines.
However, can help in generating ideas for new inventions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Most useful, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
zippy (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) (Paperback)
An excellent book, not only illustrating a wide variety of mechanisms, but also covers the basic calculations of mechanics.The book would have been much better if it had been twice the size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The cover is basically as good as it gets, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) (Paperback)
Utter Rubbish

I bought this expecting it to be a book that actual shows 1800 mechanical movements presented in the form illustrated on the cover. The cover is basically as good as it gets and in many many cases you simply get a picture of something like a tugboat or an engine or something which has many many mechanical movements within it offered as an example of one movement
WTH ! that's like showing me a picture of a car engine and saying there we are, internal combustion explained.

If it wasn't such a hassle I would have returned this book and opted for one of the others in the same category.

Honestly, do not buy, you'd get more detailed information out of childs "How it works" book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ancient, 10 Dec. 2009
By 
A. Arafa "AMA" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) (Paperback)
Ancient drawings of old devices and engines which does not show the sequence of motion of any of these devices or even give a clear brief description of how they work, and even in case a description provided it is unclear with some mistakes, for example stating that: when part "d" turns, it moves part "a" but there is no "d" on the drawing? so you have to guess.
for me it is not usefull, maybe useful for a historian as one of the reviews suggests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars OK! nothing more nothing less, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
interesting book, it certainly seems to contain 1800 mechanisms but I didn't bother to count. I was very excited about the book but I have to say I was disappointed with the result. The descriptions of the mechanisms are at times completely incomprehensible and that isn't helped by the fact that many of the pictures are of such low quality that makes them of no use whatsoever. There are however plenty of good images. is it value for money? for less that a tenner, sure! but don't expect too much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice gift for a student of Mechanical Engineering, 15 Jun. 2012
By 
Maya (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) (Paperback)
I bought this book as a present for my friend who studies mechanical engineering and he really likes it. It's definitely not a study textbook, but a nice gift for an enthusiast. Drawings of the different devices are technical but not too complicated; and it offers a good overview of the variety of devices with different specialisations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books)
1800 Mechanical Movements, Devices and Appliances (Dover Science Books) by Gardner Dexter Hiscox (Paperback - 30 Mar. 2007)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews