Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaves of a Book from Childhood
As a child I found Kay Nielsen's illustratons by turns terrifying and exquisitely beautiful. His illustrations for "East of the Sun and West of the Moon" fell into the former category, as did several of those for "In Powder and Crinoline": the black-winged North Wind striding over a churning sea; and the ghastly periwigged phantoms casting distorted shadows on the wall as...
Published on 15 Nov 2007 by F. S. L'hoir

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very poor quality images. :(
the book has a good price...but the images have a poor quality... i didn't have the possibilitie to take a look on this book before... I probably would not have bought it
Published 11 months ago by Zé


Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leaves of a Book from Childhood, 15 Nov 2007
By 
F. S. L'hoir (Irvine, CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nielsen's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
As a child I found Kay Nielsen's illustratons by turns terrifying and exquisitely beautiful. His illustrations for "East of the Sun and West of the Moon" fell into the former category, as did several of those for "In Powder and Crinoline": the black-winged North Wind striding over a churning sea; and the ghastly periwigged phantoms casting distorted shadows on the wall as they toss dice for each other's souls. Nielsen's lyrical landscapes and lovely ladies with powdered wigs and crinoline skirts belong to the latter: the white marble grecian temple atop a cliff overlooking a pool, reflecting a marble moon bridge; and the twelve dancing princesses moving secretly through a forest of slim-trunked tall trees whose trailing leaves seem like cascades of pearls and emeralds. I especially liked Nielsen's trees and recall trying to imitate them in my drawings. I also loved his star-spattered skies.

As an adult, I can see why I found many of his illustrations threatening, and I can also see why I found so many of them enchanting. His stark decorative designs with their somber palette, and his angry male figures, which I can see now are ambiguously gendered, seemed like the stuff of nightmares. At the same time, his slender princesses with their elaborately patterned silks and satins seemed like the stuff of enchanted dreams.

In either event, Kay Nielsen's illustrations are unforgettable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars very poor quality images. :(, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nielsen's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
the book has a good price...but the images have a poor quality... i didn't have the possibilitie to take a look on this book before... I probably would not have bought it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Romantic art, 3 Oct 2013
By 
P. A. Nethercott (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nielsen's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
One of my favourites. Being very old, in the twilight of my Autumn, I remember prints of these pictures in my bedroom and they scared the living !!!! out of me- it was the face on the shield. My grandson had the same problem. But in the cold light of day, these are very beautiful illustrations and each one well worth framing. The book East of the sun, West of the moon is not bed time reading for little ones, but the pictures are beautiful.
Did you know Kay (Kigh) Nielsen worked for Disney and did the artwork for the little Mermaid? (1938-1942-didn;t get released until 1987 I think)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A thing of beauty, 31 May 2014
By 
Emmabemma (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nielsen's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Kay ( pronounced Kai) Nielsen is one of the best fairy tale illustrators there are - colourful, fanciful, dramatic - a lovely collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful!, 2 Oct 2013
By 
S. Cribben "shoe fiend" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nielsen's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
As a lover of Nielsen's work, I really enjoy this book. I thoroughly recommend this to lovers of this style of art. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEAUTIFUL, 5 Aug 2014
By 
Mrs S Usher (Cardiff, Wales Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nielsen's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
This man's artwork is a class apart. His illustrations are breathtaking. He is actually credited for the closing scenes in the Disney classic Fantasia where the trees become church windows. Beautiful
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nielsen's fairy tale illustrations, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nielsen's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Very enjoyable book. An excellent review of Nielsen's work. Very easy to plunge into his dream world of fairy tales. Good quality pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good value, but prints not as clear as others i've seen, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nielsen's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
thrilled to have a book of his work. the price is great. the quality of prints lacks a little. i've seen much clearer copies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nielsen's Fairy Tale Illustrations in Full Color (Dover Fine Art, History of Art)
Ł10.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews