Customer Reviews


7 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2,500 years ago, but his techniques still valid!, 25 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
An excellent translation, keeping the feel of the authors intentions but maintaining readability by the use of modern language.
A fascinating book for anyone interested in riding through the ages. Xenophon talks of handling and riding horses for the purpose of using them in warfare and includes such strange references as "how to mount using your javelin". Whilst the reality of war shows through in his methods, they are still often less harsh and more considerate to the horse than many modern ones, thus proving the expediency of a sympathetic approach to horsemanship: he was a warrior, but still believed that force was useless in dealing with horses.
In some cases he uses descriptions that you would see in books today: his careful description of how to put a bridle on a horse is almost word for word what we are taught 2,500 years later!
Many modern teachers could learn a lot from the empathy that he explain as being vital to success with horses.
Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting read, 24 Mar. 2010
This review is from: The Art of Horsemanship (Paperback)
If, like me, you're fascinated by classical dressage or you're just interested in a learning a little of the history of horsemanship this book is work a read.

It was very interesting to learn how old many of our equestrian philosophies are. There are many things spoken of in this book which the reader will find familiar.
It was beautiful to read the treatment that Xenophon advocated for the horse. He speaks respectfully about the horse and encourages the handler to think about physical and mental health at all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ancient horsemanship, 13 Jan. 2012
By 
T. Moffatt (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was an interesting read and encouraged me to try bareback riding. It was also interesting to read up on horsecare in the times when the horse was the ultimate means of travel on land. I don't know enough about horse conformation but the part about choosing a horse and what to look for in a colt or filly was also informative. Mounting with the aid of a spear probably not that relevant nowadays but the keeping of a horse on cobbles to toughen its feet was something I had not heard of before. A good read and not that long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant edition, 14 Mar. 2013
This review is from: The Art of Horsemanship (Paperback)
This is an absolutely fantastic edition. Apart from a clear translation of the original text (pretty much the only surviving treatise of the horse, covering selection, training, fitting and riding) this edition also contains copious notes to illuminate the text, an interesting essay on the subject of the Greek horse, plenty of illustrations which, if nothing else, enliven the reading experience and excerpts from the few other Classical writers who have anything to say on the desired characteristics of the horse. This book is scholarly without being dry and easy to read without being remotely simplified. Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The original horsemanship manual, 27 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Horsemanship (Paperback)
Classic horsemanship which makes us reflect on whether the distance we have travelled has been in the ight direction for our horses
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable for learning sensitive caring riding, 4 Oct. 2014
By 
Geoffrey Thomas "Jeffers" (Bournemouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Horsemanship (Paperback)
The classic foundational text for all horsemanship particularly in my case Western riding. Several modern riding schools are indebted to this book teaching you to get your horse to work with you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable., 16 July 2011
By 
A. Grovestock-thompson (Aberdeenshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Horsemanship (Paperback)
Although an old book I found this valuable and it reminds you how important it is to be your horse's friend. Will read again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Horsemanship
The Art of Horsemanship by Xenophon (Paperback - 29 Sept. 2006)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews