Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars9
3.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
0
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 January 2011
Whoever interested in world literature; specifically in short stories, I should say it's worth reading this small collection. You can get Melville, Maupassant, Tolstoy, Kipling, Chekhov, Rilke, Mann, Lawrence, Joyce, Pirandello, Kafka, Hemingway, Achebe, Updike & more here. World is big enough to hold in this small edition. Still covered UK, USA, France, Russia, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Czechoslovakia, Nigeria & Argentina. Advanced readers may want even more but good for who are new or after classics. These stories are considered to be all time GREAT from all over the world.
I don't like the line spaces though. Too clumsy for me! But well printed! Nicely Designed! Well Binding!
Recommended!

The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions)
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
Some of these pieces are neither short nor stories but that's not always a bad thing - for example, the final piece, 'Borges and I', is an insightful two paragraph piece on the dual-identity of public personalities.

On the other hand, if you're looking for tightly plotted stories - I'd look elsewhere. As these are works by 'the greats' so to speak, they tend to substitute plot for deep ideas, beautiful description and the inner psyche of their characters - which is okay - if you like that sort of thing...
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2014
A nice easy going short stories that was easy to follow but very entertaining. Shall look for similar in future.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2012
The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions)

I got this collection hoping there would be some good short stories to read to my weekly audiance of the elderly blind people near where i live. Alas, they were not impressed by this collection. And i think they are right to some extent. Maybe some short stories are best read with eyes rather than be read aloud??

I am still finding my reading voice, which could be partly to blame?
But for that price for all these stories it seemed worth a buy, but i think we are going to keep it on the shelf as a 'last resort'. OOOOppps!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2010
A little bit disappointed, as a great lover of short stories I was hoping for stories similar the great authors such as Guy de Maupassant and Roald Dahl, however these stories had profound meanings which I struggled to grasp (it felt a little like the English GCSE Literature Anthology) and often ended abruptly with no real story line. I find it hard to believe these are the world's greatest short stories, as the Yellow Wallpaper was terribly confusing. Perhaps I am not appreciative enough of their literary greatness.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2013
a book of bad and boring short stories.
do not recommend.
and so many great stories one could choose stop
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2013
Thie book included a varied collection of stories but i didn't connect with this book as i initially thought i would
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
Great mixture of stories. But rediculously small type font.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2015
Great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.