Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading to know masters of the world
Whoever interested in world literature; specifically in short stories, I should say it's worth reading this small collection. You can get Melville, Maupassant, Tolstoy, Kipling, Chekhov, Rilke, Mann, Lawrence, Joyce, Pirandello, Kafka, Hemingway, Achebe, Updike & more here. World is big enough to hold in this small edition. Still covered UK, USA, France, Russia, Germany,...
Published on 21 Jan 2011 by MABofGL

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag... uh, book
Some of these pieces are neither short nor stories but that's not always a bad thing - for example, the final piece, 'Borges and I', is an insightful two paragraph piece on the dual-identity of public personalities.

On the other hand, if you're looking for tightly plotted stories - I'd look elsewhere. As these are works by 'the greats' so to speak, they tend to...
Published on 16 Oct 2010 by CasualBrowser


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth reading to know masters of the world, 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Whoever interested in world literature; specifically in short stories, I should say it's worth reading this small collection. You can get Melville, Maupassant, Tolstoy, Kipling, Chekhov, Rilke, Mann, Lawrence, Joyce, Pirandello, Kafka, Hemingway, Achebe, Updike & more here. World is big enough to hold in this small edition. Still covered UK, USA, France, Russia, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Czechoslovakia, Nigeria & Argentina. Advanced readers may want even more but good for who are new or after classics. These stories are considered to be all time GREAT from all over the world.
I don't like the line spaces though. Too clumsy for me! But well printed! Nicely Designed! Well Binding!
Recommended!

The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A mixed bag... uh, book, 16 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Some of these pieces are neither short nor stories but that's not always a bad thing - for example, the final piece, 'Borges and I', is an insightful two paragraph piece on the dual-identity of public personalities.

On the other hand, if you're looking for tightly plotted stories - I'd look elsewhere. As these are works by 'the greats' so to speak, they tend to substitute plot for deep ideas, beautiful description and the inner psyche of their characters - which is okay - if you like that sort of thing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars misnamed, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
a book of bad and boring short stories.
do not recommend.
and so many great stories one could choose stop
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite a range, 6 Oct 2010
By 
F. Moorhouse - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
A little bit disappointed, as a great lover of short stories I was hoping for stories similar the great authors such as Guy de Maupassant and Roald Dahl, however these stories had profound meanings which I struggled to grasp (it felt a little like the English GCSE Literature Anthology) and often ended abruptly with no real story line. I find it hard to believe these are the world's greatest short stories, as the Yellow Wallpaper was terribly confusing. Perhaps I am not appreciative enough of their literary greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very much enjoyed, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
A nice easy going short stories that was easy to follow but very entertaining. Shall look for similar in future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neutral Rating, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Thie book included a varied collection of stories but i didn't connect with this book as i initially thought i would
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars World's Greatest Short Stories, 10 Feb 2012
This review is from: The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions)

I got this collection hoping there would be some good short stories to read to my weekly audiance of the elderly blind people near where i live. Alas, they were not impressed by this collection. And i think they are right to some extent. Maybe some short stories are best read with eyes rather than be read aloud??

I am still finding my reading voice, which could be partly to blame?
But for that price for all these stories it seemed worth a buy, but i think we are going to keep it on the shelf as a 'last resort'. OOOOppps!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa4a3b6fc)

This product

The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions)
The World's Greatest Short Stories (Dover Thrift Editions) by James Daley (Paperback - 28 July 2006)
4.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews