Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely
After studying Rackham (among others) for my art GCSE I've reamined fascinated with his work. I bought this book on a whim really, but am really glad I did, the pictures are of a really good quality and size. The only slight drawback is the lack of background information apart from the short piece at the beginning - however this is more than made up for by the pieces of...
Published on 1 April 2009 by Chloe

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor printing
Being an admirer of Arthur Rackham and having many books he has illustrated I looked forward to receiving this 'treasury.' Frankly, I was disappointed, finding many of the plates rather poorly reproduced, dark and 'muddy.' It could be that the source material was also such, but the book is not one I would recommend.
Published on 8 Feb 2011 by none


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 1 April 2009
By 
This review is from: The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
After studying Rackham (among others) for my art GCSE I've reamined fascinated with his work. I bought this book on a whim really, but am really glad I did, the pictures are of a really good quality and size. The only slight drawback is the lack of background information apart from the short piece at the beginning - however this is more than made up for by the pieces of artwork themselves. Great little book, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Meanings of Enchantment!, 19 Nov 2007
By 
F. S. L'hoir (Irvine, CA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
I was introduced to Arthur Rackham's magical illustrations as a child via the old St. Nicholas children's magazines, and his pictures have lost none of their magic in the ensuing years. His pen-and-ink drawings are complemented by a muted palette of colors that transform the pages into insubstantial doors into an enchanted world populated by slender butterfly-winged fairies, multitudes of elves and gnomes, and twisted anthropomorphic trees that capture a child's imagination, without being threatening. And yet the sharp angular faces of the children in his drawings suggest a subtle mischievous humor that prevents Rackham's illustrations from ever sinking into sentimentality.

Rackham's pen covered a wide range of subjects, from Shakespeare's "Midsummer Night's Dream" and "The Tempest" by way of Kenneth Grahame's "Wind in the Willows", Lewis Carroll's "Alice in Wonderland," and classical fairy tales, to Wagner's "Ring of the Niebelungen."

We are so lucky to have these beautifully reproduced Dover illustrations in a single book. They should be introduced to one's grandchildren so that their imaginations may also take flight with the enchanting creatures of Arthur Rackham's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the money, 13 Mar 2007
By 
Casper (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
This is a very nice little book. It contains some of the not quite so well known illustrations too which I liked. It's so cheap that it's good to buy 2 copies. One to keep and browse, and the prints are of a reasonable size so that you could cut out your favourites to frame up. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A poor printing, 8 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Being an admirer of Arthur Rackham and having many books he has illustrated I looked forward to receiving this 'treasury.' Frankly, I was disappointed, finding many of the plates rather poorly reproduced, dark and 'muddy.' It could be that the source material was also such, but the book is not one I would recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars arthur rackham, 2 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
i was so exciting when i got this book, but found that the pictures were of poor quality. An art book NEEDS good quality pictures or photos of the artists work to do them justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner..., 30 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Another wonderful treasury of Arthur Rackham artwork and line-drawings.
I never tire of looking at his work and love to own these super books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
I am an Amazon fan and a faithful client. I do want to leave positive reviews when they are deserved but I don't have enough fantasy to invent a new review every time. So: simply perfect. Thx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Beautiful book...lovely illustrations, amazing artist, something which I shall use to illustrate my god daughters walls in her room. Fab...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor reproductions don't do justice to a great artist., 2 Aug 2014
This review is from: The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Potentially fabulous book, but let down by poor quality reproductions - page after page of unsharp muddy sepia> I have a book of Edmund Dulac from the same publisher, and it's just as bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art)
The Arthur Rackham Treasury (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) by Arthur Rackham (Paperback - 27 Jan 2006)
£11.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews