Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
20
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a very interesting description of a contemplative discipline conveyed intimately from an unknown teacher to an unknown student. The text is a mystic exploration of the divine that rejects the use of the intellect and the imagination, preferring an inner knowing, like a numinous experience based on feeling, a gnosis of the heart. An important theme is the difference between the active and the contemplative personality; others include the awareness of self, death of the ego, and advice on leading the contemplative life. Although this writing is deeply embedded in Christian tradition and I disagree with many of these beliefs, I still admire the author's gentleness and sense of humor. All spiritually-minded people will benefit from a study of this almost poetic text. As has been pointed out by the writer Karen Armstrong, the most beautiful sentiment is this: "For it is not what you are nor what you have been that God regards with his most merciful eyes, but what you would like to be."
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This mystical work is a thought-provoking description of a contemplative discipline conveyed intimately from an unknown teacher to an unknown student. The text is a mystic exploration of the divine that rejects the use of the intellect and the imagination, preferring an inner knowing, like a numinous experience based on feeling, a gnosis of the heart. An important theme is the difference between the active and the contemplative personality; others include the awareness of self, death of the ego, and advice on leading the contemplative life. This writing is deeply embedded in Christian tradition and the author's gentleness and sense of humor are admirable. All spiritually-minded people will benefit from a study of this almost poetic text. The most beautiful sentiment is this: "For it is not what you are nor what you have been that God regards with his most merciful eyes, but what you would like to be."
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2013
Although written in a very old English language style, I urge you to persevere through this inspired book. I found that the language quickly became less of an issue the further I progressed (similar to when hearing/reading Shakespeare for the first time). In many ways I found that the language helped the real truth being described register intuitively rather than intellectually.
JC
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
Great book! But not one to read quickly! Middle English is interesting - even when edited, for this is a light editing. But a facinating and enlightening read for anyone interested in the business of contemplative prayer.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2013
Wonderful little book, with a fascinating introduction. Spiritually uplifting and easy to understand the lovely, and sometimes very funny, 14 Century language.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
A professional, but cheaply produced eBook. Evelyn Underhill is not the author. She has merely written an introduction to the anonymous British Museum text which forms the main work. Someone has certainly tidied up the Middle English spellings but even crediting her as Translator is an overstatement; most of the original vocabulary, word usage and ordering remain.

The style and grammar requires some work by modern readers. However, this need not be a drawback. This is the kind of book that needs to be chewed over; one needs to read a paragraph or so at a time, with long pauses for thought. The format of 75 short chapters helps. This publication encourages a slower, more prayerful pace of life. Without labour we skate upon the surface and miss the depths this book is all about.

Allowing the text to intermingle with the stuff of ordinary life (in the contemplative fashion probably intended by the author) is somewhat foreign to us. We are more used to gulping down a book as if it were fast food. Many, myself included, need their diet predigested. I'm not sure I would have understood the English had I not already read The Cloud of Unknowing and Other Works (Penguin Classics).

On the down side, this eBook publication is clearly mechanical. For example, the hyphen character used throughout the introduction appears as `?' on the Kindle; it was clearly not read after processing. Particularly annoying is the fact they didn't bother to produce a Kindle-compatible index. I remedied this by bookmarking the Contents page, but it would not have cost them much to include the same material in NCX format, making it a proper `Kindle' book. Still, we get what we pay for, and it is hardly expensive.

More expensive editions may or may not be better; this one is at least worth its price. However, I would recommend more recent editions. Although both The Cloud of Unknowing and Other Works (Classic, Modern, Penguin) and The Cloud of Unknowing: A New Translation have their own (minor) drawbacks, they are worth the extra money.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
We tried the book and the principles and encouragement s are excellent. However, we found it too distracting perpetually having to decipher the "ancient" style of English. After a short trial, we sent it back and with the refund, bought a different version in modern English.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2014
I found this particular translation of the Cloud more difficult to understand. I thought the English would be more up to date than it is. I was disappointed and purchased Evlyn underhills translation instead which I find very beautiful and would highly recommend its simplicity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2009
Classic book for the Christian who wants to go deeper with the Lord. Total surrender to and hunger for God are essential prerequisites to enter in to the dimension that this book touches on i.e. the face of God! sure to offend anyone trusting in their own logic/intellect but for the humble soul who is yearning for more of God this is a valuable guide.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2014
One of the great classics of religeous contemplation. For all those who seek and for those who believe they have found.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)