Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars112
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 May 2014
As with most literature, I stumbled upon the imitation of Christ; which was surprising as some people put it second only to the Holy bible and I can understand why after reading this superb book.

Thomas A Kempis (1380 - 1471) spent 70 years a recluse in Monasteries and yet his passionate words of wisdom are just as valid today as they were then. This book has been renewing and reviving the faith in God for over 500 years now and it is a powerful work.

This book is filled with homespun wisdom, remove God and Jesus and we have a great work of philosophy, so please, if you are not religious, do not allow this work to stop your reading.

It has a cure for anxiety, turn away from consumerism. Overcome fear of death, name calling, pride, intellectualism. This book advocates turning away from material things, work hard, study hard, but care not about the opinions of others or looking clever.

Devote yourself to the spiritual, grow spiritually by reading and learning, work hard at modest and humble work and be judged by your actions, not your bank balance. An excellent read for our current difficult times.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2007
Outside of the Bible, this is the timeless heart of the Christian message. This was not written for priests or holy orders, but for those of us living in the world, coping with the pressures, battling with sin and temptation, holding down jobs and so on. And yet, it is a forthright rejection of our world and its temporal gods. This translation by Leo Shirley-Price is the best. It is a book you could sometimes hurl across the room in your frustration and weakness, but you will never find a passage or page that does not respond directly to your spiritual need. This is the narrow way that Jesus taught, laid out in the simplest language. There is no ambiguity here for those who prefer a more comfortable faith. It asks that you turn your back with contempt on worldly honours, wealth and power, and become, in all humility and as Thomas a Kempis says: one of the "few lovers of the Cross of Jesus". And it asks you to accept and embrace suffering if that is the result. Thomas of Kempen remains, even after 600 years, a spiritual director everyone can have access to, through this life-changing, Christian classic.
0Comment|65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2012
A wonderful read. Recommended by none other than St Therese of Lisieux!!

It contains fabulous insights and deep meditations on the teachings of Jesus, as well as the Church Fathers, back to the time of the early Catholic Church - the time of the Apostles.

There is also some extremely helpful prayers before confession; some of which can be read verbatim in the Confessional, leading to a thorough examination of conscience and good confession.

Reading this book will definitely help your spiritual growth and understanding of your part in your salvation.

Not to be missed.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2012
Hardly my place to add to all the scholarly reviews and analysis of this work, but it is a classic book on how to live the Christian life. Despite being written ~600 years ago, it remains as relevant today as it has always been.
The translation by Leo Sherley-Price (1952) is faithful to the original Latin and still accessible today.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2013
This brilliant book was intended for the use of monks and nuns in their meditations, but lay people everywhere - Catholic and Protestant - have found it a great help as well. It is a marvellous introduction to the essence of Christianity. If our leaders, including Church leaders, read it every day and meditated on it, the world would be a better place. The chapters are bite-sized you could read one easily just before turning out the bedside light. For the non-Christian who is curious about the Faith, it could be a very helpful introduction, explaining why Chritians believe that or that, and what they are supposed to do. The meditation on death, which is now almost a taboo subject in society, is particularly good.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2010
Brilliant, it has something for everyone both religious and lay. It can be used over and over again, when ever you have doubts and need some reassurance you can find just what you need in the special index at the back of the book. The zipped cover adds that little bit of class, but I feel it would be better if the zip opened from bottom to top. This book would make a great present too for either religious or lay people, I will certainly be giving it a lot of use.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2009
Imitation is probably my number 3 for all time Christian books - absolutely amazing. A little surprised when this leather bound edition came with a zip which i was not expecting as not advertised. Don't like the zip very much as digs into hand whilst reading, so brought a different cheaper version which i prefer to use.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2013
This book has been the source of spiritual strength and devotion second only to the Bible for many Christians, Written in the early 15th Century it was translated into many different languages in those early years I think it has never been out of print and has always been read by many Christians of all generations and backgrounds. I beleive that it was in the hands of the Pope who died suddenly soon after election in the 1970s It is a book to be read many times - always something new and relevant to be found..
It is still after all these years a best seller wherever there are Christians trying to follow Christ
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2012
Thomas a Kempis should be better known. His devotional aide is suitable to all Christians, irrespective of churchmanship. I wish I had read it years ago.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2015
The perfect size for carrying about in your pocket and its a better quality than I was expecting. The print size is not as small as some others on here have indicated. I can read the print without using my +1.5 reading glasses so most people will have no trouble with it. Some of the words have gone out of common usage so it useful to keep a dictionary to hand just to clarify what is being said. However I quickly got used to the style and after a while you don't notice it as the content has a huge impact. If you have to choose 3 books to read I would choose the Bible first then this book and the Cloud of Unknowing. Living it; well thats where life gets interesting.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.