Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of everything for first time fair isle enthusiasts
This was my first fair isle book purchase. I found the Origins of the Patterns fascinating, Design Techniques and Colour is very informative about choices of patterns, large and small designs and at the back there is a large directory of different patterns to choose from.

A lovely first time fair isle book.
Published on 27 Nov. 2007 by Jean Bletsoe

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good ideas
This book is not aimed at a beginner to fairisle knitting. However there are some useful charts and amazing patterns. The biggest drawback of this book is that most of the pictures are in black and white and are starting to look very dated. I would have liked to see more information on use of colour and modern yarns.
Published on 23 July 2009 by Freespirit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit of everything for first time fair isle enthusiasts, 27 Nov. 2007
By 
Jean Bletsoe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traditional Fair Isle Knitting (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
This was my first fair isle book purchase. I found the Origins of the Patterns fascinating, Design Techniques and Colour is very informative about choices of patterns, large and small designs and at the back there is a large directory of different patterns to choose from.

A lovely first time fair isle book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good for people who want to advance their fair isle knowledge, 24 Jan. 2010
By 
Dr. S. Tollerton "Sigrun" (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traditional Fair Isle Knitting (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I have been getting frustrated by the fact that nearly every book I pick up is about 30% for the beginner, even when they are not advertised as beginners' books. It is refreshing to find one that is prepared to focus on the advanced knitter, and this is one. Yes, more colour would be nice, but on the other hand the book was very inexpensive, and so I didn't feel hard done to. Part of the joy of Fair Isle is sorting out your own colour ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive range of fair isle designs, 2 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Traditional Fair Isle Knitting (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
This book would suit experienced knitters who wanted to know more about the history and evolution of fair isle designs and wished to create their own garment patturns using these. There is a bewildering range of designs included, plus information on how to use these building blocks in traditional shetland sweaters, scarves etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CREATE YOUR OWN, 6 Nov. 2010
By 
Brigitte Picart (Paris, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traditional Fair Isle Knitting (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I am new to Fair Isle knitting and bought this book as a reference and compendium of motifs. Personally I don't like to follow exactly any given pattern because it makes me feel imposed upon. Here there is enough information to knit in the traditional way, that is with traditional garment patterns, yarn, color coordination and motifs, but you are free to pick and chose every single element. Part of the fun is to make the calculations so that the motifs you chose will fit the number of stitches you need to cast on. Every knit item should be unique and this book makes it possible.
For the price this is an excellent investment, as usual with most Dover Publishing books. There are enough color photos to give the reader a good idea of the color coordination in traditional Fair Isle knitting.
After reading this book you can visit an online seller of Shetland wool for a color symphony and make your choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable to fairisle knitters, 12 July 2011
By 
P. Sonnex "natty knitter" (Agia, Greece) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Traditional Fair Isle Knitting (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I have owned this book for many years and it is among the few that go everywhere I move to. I have knitted since I was 3 years old and still love the designs in this book. I can find the correct yarns easily with Jamieson of Lerwick Only for knitters who are looking for dedigns not patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some good ideas, 23 July 2009
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Traditional Fair Isle Knitting (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
This book is not aimed at a beginner to fairisle knitting. However there are some useful charts and amazing patterns. The biggest drawback of this book is that most of the pictures are in black and white and are starting to look very dated. I would have liked to see more information on use of colour and modern yarns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars historical, 15 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Fair Isle Knitting (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
If you want something covering the history and origins of Fair Isle and Shetland knitting then this book is for you. It has several chart of different traditional styles but does NOT have any actual patterns for making actual garments . Not a book for a beginner .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars nice, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Fair Isle Knitting (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I chose this because the book uploads and everything around it is safe and fast and good handling. I would sincerely recommend this to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Traditional Fair Isle Knitting (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews