Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story - not just for children
Little Lord Fauntleroy is the dream Christmas story.

A sweet,decent and unspoilt boy with a heart of gold is winning over his old, disappointed and grumpy grandfather who happens to be an Earl. Reluctantly Grandpa has to acknowledge him as his heir.... reluctantly because his mother is an American; quite shocking for a British Earl. However, the new young Lord...
Published on 23 May 2005 by Amelrode

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Download
Published 4 months ago by Nik Reeves


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great story - not just for children, 23 May 2005
By 
Amelrode (Vilvoorde) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Little Lord Fauntleroy is the dream Christmas story.

A sweet,decent and unspoilt boy with a heart of gold is winning over his old, disappointed and grumpy grandfather who happens to be an Earl. Reluctantly Grandpa has to acknowledge him as his heir.... reluctantly because his mother is an American; quite shocking for a British Earl. However, the new young Lord F. brings back life and happiness into the old cold castle and his grandfather's life. Then all seems to be lost as another heir appears. Well, all is well in the end and all at Christmas. A triumph over prejudices ang haughtiness, a triumph for decency and love. Can there be a better Christmas story?
What a damm sweet story, you mind think. This is just too much.... and well you may be actaully are right. But nevertheless it is wonderful and utterly enjoyable. I just liked it. And the movie based on this book (the one with Alex Guiness) is great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always a pleasure, 27 Feb. 2008
By 
María José García Ferrer (Madrid, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I read the novel in just two days. Despite the maybe childish and sometimes contrieved plot it is a delight. A "feel good" book.
The main character and his Mum, Dearest, make you remember that the world would be a simpler place if we were all like them.
Even if it can be easily placed within the traditional corpus of children's literature it is a great read for all ages.
A book that bears second and third perusals well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of being a child..., 6 Dec. 2001
By 
Frances Burnett's books were some of my best childhood friends, as I was growing up during the 60's in a bleak and grey country.
Cedric Errol is a sweet little boy and everything in this story can be explained trough love: he is inclined to love everybody and everything, and his love does change his not-so-sweet grandfather. The message I got from Little Lord Fautleroy as a child was that people have to be loved before being loveable, and that love CAN change things - it's still a good lesson to be learned.
And, of course, the book gave me and my brothers a perfect private joke we still use, about "aunt's sisters".
Turn your TV of, turn the gameboys of, sit all snug on the floor, with pillows and rugs, and read it for your six/seven year olds. It's magic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little Lord Fauntleroy, 19 Jun. 2011
the story is cute, but cannot compare to Frances' other two books (The Secret Garden, and A Little Princess), regarding meaningful content.
I wanted a hardcover copy, and this one is beautifully made with oldfashioned fabric, and the illustrations look really authentic for the time the story is set in.
All in all, I liked it very much, although the price I paid wasn't exactly cheap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Little Lord Fauntleroy, 14 July 2010
This little book is a children's classic. A really lovely fantasy of a story.
A world some people will snif and scorn at - but if you want pure escapeism, a wonderful little hero,
morals wrapped up in delightful innocence, in fact a 'Fairy Tale' then wallow in it. Nobody writes
these kind of stories today and a little bit of old fashioned 'feel good' fantasy is good for one occasionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best for your children and also for your book-shelf, 4 Mar. 1999
By A Customer
Pure, bright story among the stories written by Frances Hodgson Burnett. You can read again and again and will want to read it to your children. I have collected her renowned books in many versions but Everyman's library Children's Classic edition is published in a very high quality to decorate your bookshelf in addition to C. E.Brock's illustrations, as it's said " Classic".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic for all ages, 11 Jan. 2014
By 
Nina "Nina" (Swansea, South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I first read this book as a little girl and it was the first time I had ever cried being lost in the story. I refused to continue reading it because I was so upset that Cedric was not to be Lord Fauntleroy. I did finish the book after some persuasion and it must be said that it continues to be my favourite.

The writing is superb and it's such a beautiful story. I would recommend it to anyone, child or adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 29 Feb. 2012
By 
Martin Court "Martin" (Notts England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Little Lord Fauntleroy (Dover Children's Evergreen Classics) (Paperback)
A really good book, with a lovely story and a nice ending. I would recommend this book to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars !, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Who wouldn't be delighted to find the public domain list of FREE classic literature. This is fantastic. All the titles I've always wanted to read and for free - this is my kind of kindle heaven. I love the way they arrive on your kindle, they're so quick, it's like magic. Thank you public domain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely book, 26 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a lovely book with fantastic characters that I enjoyed reading about. I would recommend it to people over the age of 12 as it is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Little Lord Fauntleroy (Dover Children's Evergreen Classics)
Little Lord Fauntleroy (Dover Children's Evergreen Classics) by Frances Hodgson Burnett (Paperback - 28 Mar. 2003)
£3.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews