Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of Rackham
I discovered Arthur Rackham's wonderful illustrations about 4 years ago, thanks largely to the book on him by James Hamilton.From the late 1890s until his death in 1939 he illustrated many classics-the Brothers Grimm, Alice in Wonderland,English Fairy Tales, Irish Fairy Tales, The Wind in the Willows,3 different versions of A Midsummer Night's Dream,even Wagner's Ring...
Published on 24 Sep 2003 by ILONACAT

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good.. drawings not very fairy
Not very good..drawings not very fairy like
Published 18 days ago by Jennifer Blane


Most Helpful First | Newest First

78 of 79 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The magic of Rackham, 24 Sep 2003
By 
ILONACAT (WIRRAL, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
I discovered Arthur Rackham's wonderful illustrations about 4 years ago, thanks largely to the book on him by James Hamilton.From the late 1890s until his death in 1939 he illustrated many classics-the Brothers Grimm, Alice in Wonderland,English Fairy Tales, Irish Fairy Tales, The Wind in the Willows,3 different versions of A Midsummer Night's Dream,even Wagner's Ring Cycle. You won't find Ratty or Toad or Shakespeare or the Valkyries in this particular volume but you will find many of the things Rackham is famous for: gnarled and angry dwarfs, terrifying witches, the Sleeping Beauty in her finery, also dark, twisted trees in dark landscapes.If, like me, your appetite for Rackham has been whetted, this book is for you.If you don't know his work, but simply like fairy stories,this is also a good buy.There's virtually no text-just the title of each illustration and the title of the book it originally appeared in.No analyses, no biography-for that, there's James Hamilton's excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chic, 10 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Give this book to a child. It will of course delight adults who know Rackham and appreciate it as art, but the real audience for this book is children. It is just pictures, no story to detract from the imaginative experience, and what pictures, what twisted trees and hook nosed old women, what big lipped goblins, what self contained cats and sinewy dragons. We talk down to children when we offer them the polite, sanitized images and concepts that pass for childrens books now. The reason Grimms Fairy tales were classics was because they really reached into the psyche. Rackham does the same thing with his illustrations. If you want to be the most discerning relative, forget the hungry caterpillar; give this as a gift without comment and stand back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoy, 2 Dec 2009
By 
J. Mortimer - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
This is a lovely book;the right size for a 'coffee table' book and beautifully produced for the price.For particular fans of Arthur Rackham's illustrations,then this is wonderful.Even though I have every Rackham book I can acquire, [and have Rackham prints on my walls], I still frequently sit and look through this one because its conveniently to hand. If you are new to A.R. then buy this as a taster.His pictures reveal something new at every viewing and are at once enchanting,fantastical,darkly Gothic,witty,and speak of that knowledge of the hidden 'fairy' world that lies deep in the human consciousness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real joy, 22 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Wanted to enter the racham world of goblins and fairy sprites, this was the perfect vehicle. Plates are fab.
Just what I was looking for. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous!, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
I bought this book for a university project I was doing and the illustrations in this book are simply stunning. It's a lovely book that is a must have if you love illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Fairies, 1 April 2013
By 
A C E Cuthill (Clydebank Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Absolutely beautiful book, full of the most amazing full page illustrations in luxurious colour. A must for all fairy and fantasy fans and also fans of artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rackham's fairy tale illustrations, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
a very enjoyable book. Excellent review of Rackham's works. Very good prints, a book that makes you remember the fairy tales of your youth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
I am an Amazon fan and a faithful client. I do want to leave positive reviews when they are deserved but I don't have enough fantasy to invent a new review every time. So: simply perfect. Thx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good.. drawings not very fairy, 4 Aug 2014
By 
Jennifer Blane "Jjacre" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art) (Paperback)
Not very good..drawings not very fairy like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rackham's Fairy Tale Illustrations: 8 (Dover Fine Art, History of Art)
11.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews