Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New and old.
The popular press leaves us with the impression that math is
intimmidating. This wasn't always the case. In my time, the approach to how we teach math went thru cycles: (1) The boot-camp
approach with its endless drills, (2) The New-Math approach, (3) The back-to-basics trend, and (4) The Make-it-Seem-Easy-and Fun approach and the motivational...
Published on 4 April 2003 by Palle E T Jorgensen

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't read it
So I bought this book because prime numbers are awesome, can't read it yet though. Don't know calculus so heads up on that one. Looks like a good book though for a lot of decent information regarding this. Will probably read this after my second year at university (studying physics)
Published 17 months ago by Sigex


Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars New and old., 4 April 2003
By 
Palle E T Jorgensen "Palle Jorgensen" (Iowa City, Iowa United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Riemann's Zeta Function (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
The popular press leaves us with the impression that math is
intimmidating. This wasn't always the case. In my time, the approach to how we teach math went thru cycles: (1) The boot-camp
approach with its endless drills, (2) The New-Math approach, (3) The back-to-basics trend, and (4) The Make-it-Seem-Easy-and Fun approach and the motivational speakers.---Finally Edwards suggests, following Eric Temple Bell, that we rather begin with the classics when approaching a subject in math. It was thought that later books based on the classics had more effective ways of doing it, and few took the trouble of looking at the original and central papers of the great masters. The landmark papers. All the while, they collected dust on the shelves in the back rooms of libraries. Of the classics, the true landmarks, one stands out: It is Riemann's paper on the prime numbers, what later turned into the prime number theorem. It is also the paper with the Riemann hypothesis, still unproved, now generations later. So it is a delightful idea including Riemann's paper, in translation, in an appendix. It would have been nice had Edwards also reproduced the original German text. Now the RH is one of the Million-Dollar problems in math. It is anyone's guess when it will be cracked, but in the mean time, it continues to inspire generations of mathematicians and students. This lovely Dover edition is came out in 2001. The original first 1974 edition, Academic Press, had gone out of print. This lovely book seems still to be a model that we can measure other books against. Edwards' presentation is both engaging and deep, and the book contains the gems in a subject that continues to be central in math, the subject of analytic number theory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Couldn't read it, 28 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riemann's Zeta Function (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
So I bought this book because prime numbers are awesome, can't read it yet though. Don't know calculus so heads up on that one. Looks like a good book though for a lot of decent information regarding this. Will probably read this after my second year at university (studying physics)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read for a Mathematics Undergraduate, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Riemann's Zeta Function (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
I bought this book to help with my Mathematics Masters Project on the Riemann Hypothesis and the Riemann Zeta Function.

I find the book very useful as it is detailed and clear, and fills in many of the 'missing' steps in Bernhard Riemann's 1859 paper. It has all the topics you would expect to see, and has a particularly good chapter on the analytic continuation of the zeta function, proof of the functional equation and how the zeros of the zeta function link to the primes.

A must read for any undergraduate Mathematics student looking to further their understanding. And it's much cheaper than the alternatives!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE ZETA FUNCTION, 4 July 2014
By 
Jet Lagged - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Riemann's Zeta Function (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
Everything you wanted to know about the Zeta Function.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riemann's Zeta Function Explained, 21 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Riemann's Zeta Function (Dover Books on Mathematics) (Paperback)
Probably the best book to explain the Zeta function and the problem of proving it. Needs some advanced maths knowledge to get the best out of it, so not for the layman. Like all the other books on the subject that I have read, suffers from not giving a clear and detailed description of calculating a numeric example. This book is recommended in other books on the subject, so if you are interested buy this one first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Riemann's Zeta Function (Dover Books on Mathematics)
Riemann's Zeta Function (Dover Books on Mathematics) by H M. Edwards (Paperback - 28 Mar. 2003)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews