Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good
Not his best but very good. I cannot judge it as a work of social commentary (my loss) as I don't know enough about the era, but it is very funny. All his works contain gems and I have found that those gems change over time (which means to me that they are very subjective) so it is difficult to differentiate. But this is very good and you should read it.
Published on 11 July 2011 by J Z A

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars poor editing
I love Oscar Wilde and this edition has tried to spoil it for me by not using capital letters for names and by typographical errors. Shame...
Published 2 months ago by Gifford


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 11 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ideal Husband (Kindle Edition)
Not his best but very good. I cannot judge it as a work of social commentary (my loss) as I don't know enough about the era, but it is very funny. All his works contain gems and I have found that those gems change over time (which means to me that they are very subjective) so it is difficult to differentiate. But this is very good and you should read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent pure genius, 9 Nov 2000
this is one of wilde's most intersting and dramtically effective plays which has the colourful creations of the manipulative Mrs Chevely to the naive and fickle Miss Markby. If you HAVE read any of his others plays and have enjoyed them then this is the play for you buy it now. Miss Davison said it is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 12 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: An Ideal Husband (Paperback)
This story is so enjoyable and perfectly crafted that it would enchant any reader. When you put it down, you just want to read it again. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars poor editing, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ideal Husband (Kindle Edition)
I love Oscar Wilde and this edition has tried to spoil it for me by not using capital letters for names and by typographical errors. Shame...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a 'must read'., 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ideal Husband (Kindle Edition)
'An Ideal Husband' is right up there with 'The Importance of being Earnest' and if you haven't read that either then you have two wonderful reads waiting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great play, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ideal Husband (Kindle Edition)
Great play, formatted well and easy to read. Well worth spending a bit of time to be familiar with this classic play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quite the masterpiece, 20 Dec 2013
This review is from: An Ideal Husband (Kindle Edition)
Rather dated, a little sexist and at times slightly tiresome with the concentrated and contrary wit from Lord Goring, who is quite clearly based on Wilde himself. That said, the convoluted plot in so short a play is clearly a work of genius, many lines of dialogue shine and the witticisms brought a few smiles to me over a century later. I preferred Earnest and the Canterville Ghost slightly more, but this is still quite a masterpiece. 4.5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 12 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ideal Husband (Kindle Edition)
Humorous and funny, I don't think there can be any criticism of this play. Easy bedtime reading :) absolutely recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An ideal husband, 28 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ideal Husband (Kindle Edition)
I had never Oscar Wilde before but, although this is a play, found it a lovely story. As it is written in script format it takes a little while to get into. O care e you are though, it is worth the perseverance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Performances, 12 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: An Ideal Husband (Paperback)
My theatre company is presenting this play and i needed copies quickly. Also they were a lot cheaper than the original publishers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb443a0a8)

This product

An Ideal Husband (Dover Thrift Editions)
An Ideal Husband (Dover Thrift Editions) by Oscar Wilde (Paperback - 1 Feb 2001)
2.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews