Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, detailed guide to this fascinating art
Copperplate calligraphy is one of the most ornate and beautiful writing styles in the world. Currently undergoing a popular revival, due to the infamous character Hannibal Lecter, and his meticulous copperplate hand portayed in the book and film "Hannibal."

For anyone interested in learning this art, this book is an absolute must. It starts with a...
Published on 5 April 2001

versus
1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Good Introduction to the basic copperplate (USA-Roundhand) alphabet.
Found this book just a little too basic for my needs. Was after 'mastering' which the title implies, but found it fell a little short for someone already frequented with this way of writing. I was after a little more flourishing tuition which it fails to teach to some degree, but then, I have been using copperplate all my life since three years of age.
Published 13 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

68 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing, detailed guide to this fascinating art, 5 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
Copperplate calligraphy is one of the most ornate and beautiful writing styles in the world. Currently undergoing a popular revival, due to the infamous character Hannibal Lecter, and his meticulous copperplate hand portayed in the book and film "Hannibal."

For anyone interested in learning this art, this book is an absolute must. It starts with a gradual introduction of the history and origins of Copperplate, giving readers and practitioners of the art a thorough grounding before setting pen to paper. Advice is given on all aspects of choosing and buying the correct equipment, without merely stating that it is necessary - choices are explained in depth, to richen the experience and help guide the budding calligrapher.

The actual writing guides themselves are a wonder to follow, with simple, easy-to-follow tutorials and examples - readers should proceed at their own pace, and are recommended to find their own equilibrium and personal style. All the correct strokes, letter formations and structures are taught with an emphasis on practice, although much more time is spent on actually writing words and sentences in this beautiful script. Progressively more ornate examples and projects are provided to duplicate, and towards the end of the book, readers and practitioners will really feel that they are producing excellent pieces of calligraphy.

I cannot recommend this book enough to anyone interested in this amazing craft - Copperplate does require a reasonable level of study and a lot of practice, but with this book it is made much more fun and rewarding experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 24 Feb 2008
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
As a novice trying to learn the art of Copperplate, I can highly recommend this book. It has simple to follow guidelines and shows the reader step by step instructions. Compared to some of the other titles that I have purchased, this is bar far the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars COPPERPLATE CALLIGRAPHY, 3 July 2010
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
The book MASTERING COPPERPLATE CALLIGRAPHY, the contents are very very good very well set out and I find myself reading this book, at every opportunity, although I am only learning this skill, its something I have always wanted to learn, especially, the copperplate, that is ideal for my needs, the book makes it look fairly easy, that may be so ,but I am sure a lot of hard work and dedication goes into producing such fine work, as your book clearly shows,
The book is very clear, as to what to do, my only problem is i cannot get the pen nibs described in you items I will need to purchase, I will look up this on the internet giving the information that is in your book,

This book would make an ideal present for any one who is interested in this craft, I would be happy to recommend this
book to my friends, and any one else who would be interested.

THANK YOU TO AMAZON

THANK YOU TO THE SELLER
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy, 8 Jan 2011
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
As a complete beginner to copperplate calligraphy I found this book very detailed and most helpful on how to exercise this handwriting. I had bought another book previously on copperplate but in comparison this one is much better. I really recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended if you want to do calligraphy in the copperplate ..., 16 Oct 2014
By 
L.C "@@" (Lancashire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
A really interesting and precise guide. I read it three times and I found things of interest every time and some things I didnt know.
Recommended if you want to do calligraphy in the copperplate hand, well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
I had already seen this book, and knew that it was an excellent guide - the book is well written, and explains clearly and in great detail; a must for students determined to master this elegant style of Calligraphy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Want to write in the copperplate style? Get this, 9 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
A very thorough guide to writing copperplate from the very beginning in meticulous detail. No other books on copperplate even come close
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mastering Copperplate, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
You will enjoy this book even if you cannot do Copperplate
It shows you how to do copperplate with hints and tips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
Bought as a gift so didn't open it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography) (Paperback)
Five Stars, just want i asked for
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mastering Copperplate Calligraphy (Lettering, Calligraphy, Typography)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews