Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Few books of costume design are more useful
Few books of costume design are more useful than this volume. Detailed drawings in a continuous chronological format provide a history of costume design from the first century A.D. to 1930. More than 1400 illustrations chronicle the full sweep of two millennia of Western garb, from Roman noble to Victorian dandy, from Elizabethan lady to Jazz Age schoolboy.
Published on 8 Nov 2001

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed, but dry
This book contains comprehensive black and white line drawings of costume through the ages. It is useful as a reference book but is not as engaging as some of the other books on costume which include some colour illustrations or have more white space around the drawings. This is a useful and well researched book but if I had to pick my top 10 books on costume this...
Published on 1 Jan 2011 by lindsay326


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Few books of costume design are more useful, 8 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
Few books of costume design are more useful than this volume. Detailed drawings in a continuous chronological format provide a history of costume design from the first century A.D. to 1930. More than 1400 illustrations chronicle the full sweep of two millennia of Western garb, from Roman noble to Victorian dandy, from Elizabethan lady to Jazz Age schoolboy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 18 April 2005
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
This book is fantastic in that it is just page upon page of black and white images, but its a shame that none come in colour, but for the price its amazing. Perfect for costume designers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quirky but entertaining - and useful to artists and fashion historians, 4 April 2009
By 
S. Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
This is by no means an exhaustive study of the history of costume. However it is a useful addition to the library of anyone studying the subject, mostly because it draws its subject matter from contemporary works of art. Hence we view Roman and Romanesque drapery from statuary, Renaissance and Rococo outfits from paintings, 19th and early 20th century styles from fashion prints and magazine illustrations. This gives us an idea of how people at the time intended their dress to be perceived. The book is also a quiet work of beauty in its own right, which will be of interest to artists studying style.
It would also make a good gift for an artistic youngster. I first found it in the school library and spent many happy hours tracing and colouring the clearly presented line drawings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Detailed, but dry, 1 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
This book contains comprehensive black and white line drawings of costume through the ages. It is useful as a reference book but is not as engaging as some of the other books on costume which include some colour illustrations or have more white space around the drawings. This is a useful and well researched book but if I had to pick my top 10 books on costume this wouldn't be one of them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
Fantastic. I bought this for me my 6 year old who has a real interest in historical fashion and it ended up reigniting my own passion in the subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a little disappointing, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
a little disappointing as no proper text was included, and no colour, but on the whole was interesting to leaf through
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars informative, 22 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
Bought to help with the making of costumes for an amateur dramatic group. Has been very useful in showing what things should look like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 22 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
great collection of images which are very clear text at the back. whish it went into the 40s, 50s and 60s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A large range of costumes, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
I found this book a little disappointing in that many of the illustrations were unclear and it was hard to see the details I was interested in. Many were drawings of statues. I had hoped for a book with clear illustrations which would be easy to translate into the miniature costumes I hope to produce, but that is not what this book had ot offer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good Ilustrations, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes) (Paperback)
Bought this book to help with an art project (GCSE), Both my daughter and her teacher were impressed with the quality of the illustrations, which inspired a host of ideas for costume design
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Costume through the Ages: Over 1400 Illustrations (Dover Fashion and Costumes)
8.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews