Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary background for Agatha Christie & Dorothy L. Sayers
My preferred version is the New Mermaids edition of The Duchess of Malfi by John Webster. Elisabeth M. Brennan edits this edition (ISBN: 0393900665.) I mention this, as it does not seem to be readily available. However this version will do.
I bought this after reading snippets of it in other books. I do not recall having to learn this in school. Only now do I...
Published on 16 Sep 2001 by bernie

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Duchess of Malfi by Webster
A good KIndle edition, with large, legible print. A pity that it is not easier to search the text for key-words and phrases.
Published 16 months ago by Max Markham


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Necessary background for Agatha Christie & Dorothy L. Sayers, 16 Sep 2001
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
My preferred version is the New Mermaids edition of The Duchess of Malfi by John Webster. Elisabeth M. Brennan edits this edition (ISBN: 0393900665.) I mention this, as it does not seem to be readily available. However this version will do.
I bought this after reading snippets of it in other books. I do not recall having to learn this in school. Only now do I intend to read "The White Devil" in anticipation of it being encountered in other works.
Well what do you know? This animal is based on a true story of the Duchess of Amalfi. Evidentially there were several books written on this and he picked one for the outline of the play.
The Elisabeth M. Brennan edition is almost as good as taking a class in its self. The introduction gives you a back ground and the basic story that the play was based on. You get some information on John Webster and some of his other plays. There is even a further Reading List. There are even notes on the text and how to read the notes for the different versions of the play its self. By the time you get to the play you are well prepared to read it.
The play its self has stanzas, line numbers and notes to help you through the difficulty of understanding what the words mean in context. It is almost like reading a bible. You soon pickup speed and then actually get intrigued in the writing and story.
Now I desperately want some local theater to present "The duchess of Malfi"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Contemporary, 20 April 2001
By A Customer
Written by one of Shakespeare's contemporaries, many might recognize John Webster as the rat loving boy in "Shakespeare in Love". His strange fascination with taboo subjects comes to the forefront in this play, incest, murder, the character of Bosola seemingly unable to identify where his loyaltyies lie, the Duchess herself under the strain of being a good ruler when all she wants to do is live as she wants. More gutsy one might say than Shakespeare's plays - with the exception of Titus perhaps - and certainly the issues within are still relevant in this day and age. And many still controversial. Webster may not have received the commercial success of Shakespeare, but he certainly deserves some sort of cult status, a sort of Jacobean Martin Scorsese - refusing to accept the conventions of how a revenge tragedy shoud go - killing off the main part an act before the finish, having a murderous assassin with a conscience - and exploring what he wanted to. And not necessarily what the public wanted to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of the Kindle presentation of the Play., 18 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Presumably most readers of this edition will be like myself - someone who knows the play and wanted a copy of it. I love it but can understand those who don't: hence the only reason for my review is to let potential users know about its Kindle presentation.

With just a very, very short introduction it is effectively just the text of the script and nothing else: valuable for reading or a reference but not for study purposes. As with most plays it appears cluttered on a standard Kindle screen and would not be an ideal vehicle for learning lines if you were to be acting one of the parts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Learn to love tragedies!!!!, 10 Feb 2002
As a teenager English Literature is one of the most mind-numbing subjects to study - or so I thought until I was introduced to this book. Despite being written in a completely different period, each character would fit in perfectly with the world today, and has far more twists than any soap-opera or sit-com.
Perfect for all those wonderful people who find murder, incest, power seeking, lust, mad men singing and blatant insults even mildly amusing.
Get used to the Jacobean speech, and this is one hell of a play. Read this one, and then find yourself some more Webster!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a classic among classics,with its depiction of lust,treachery and revenge.This is most definitely Websters greatest work.a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Duchess of Malfi by Webster, 19 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good KIndle edition, with large, legible print. A pity that it is not easier to search the text for key-words and phrases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars prompt delivery, excellent condition, good price!, 9 Sep 2010
By 
cm63 (North Yorkshire, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ordered on the 8th and received on the 9th - prompt delivery, excellent condition, good price! Can't fault this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Duchess review, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hard to put down once you get drawn in to this brilliantly imaginative and creative work from the twisted thoughts of Webster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Duchess of Malfi, 25 Aug 2013
By 
essieb (England UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought for OU course, therefore not comfort reading, but well presented with excellent notes and information. Not used yet for essay, which will be real test.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Clear and concise - good for students., 26 Jan 2006
Clear layout with interesting insights from previous performances. It did feel a little as though it was being sponsored by one or two of them however, they were referenced so frequently.
Also, there was a distinct lack of information on the play's original performance, which most copies do have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Duchess of Malfi (Dover Thrift Editions)
The Duchess of Malfi (Dover Thrift Editions) by John Webster (Paperback - 1 Feb 2000)
2.41
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews