Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


153 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, even if you hardly ever go out!
This book is a classic text which need never change over the course of decades, if not centuries. It was actually written in 1957 but is not "dated" in any way. In fact it is unlikely that a more modern author would have had such a comprehensive range of experience. The author was an experienced pathfinder and has written up his experiences of navigation in this...
Published on 22 Jan 2002

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but good.
A very good book although prospective buyers should be aware that it was written in the 1950's and can seem a little laboured.
I read this book and then re-read it highlighting the parts that I found to be most practical for myself.
There is quite a section on the types of seabirds found in the tropics etc. These are interesting but not quite practical enough...
Published on 7 Sep 2011 by Capt. Trips


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

153 of 156 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, even if you hardly ever go out!, 22 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
This book is a classic text which need never change over the course of decades, if not centuries. It was actually written in 1957 but is not "dated" in any way. In fact it is unlikely that a more modern author would have had such a comprehensive range of experience. The author was an experienced pathfinder and has written up his experiences of navigation in this excellent book. In this modern age where GPS positioning is the norm, one tends to think of the subject of navigation as being beyond the ordinary skills of the lay person. Gatty shows how these skills can be learned and explains how some simple rules of thumb about moss on trees etc can be misleading on their own. He shows how one develops a sense of direction not from one sign, but from a consensus of signs, giving a high confidence.
One eye opening aspect of the subject is the tale of the Polynesians and their magnificent navigational achievements. Captain Cook "discovered" islands in the pacific that were in fact never lost. Not only that, Cook's ship was smaller than the local catamarans! The history books are all written from the western perspective, treating the natives as "primitives". This whole concept of "primitives" is shown to be wrong and one gains a much better sense of the true history. This gives one a broader outlook on life in general and the wrongs that were perpetrated on less technologically advanced races.
With artificial lighting and digital time keeping we can become very detached from the natural world. This inexpensive book helps redress this imbalance and shows us how to rapidly find our bearings in a strange location.
Leslie Green CEng MIEE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful tool, with practice, 24 May 2010
By 
Mr. M. R. Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
If you want to read this book and then find your way about immediately you may struggle. There is a considerable amount of information presented in a highly readable and enjoyable(if slightly verbose) format.

I found that to utilise the information within I had to go back through the book and make bullet points extracting the useful data from the wealth of text. Once I had done so I realised how useful this book really is.

A previous career of mine was as a (Qualified) mountain Leader and I relied heavily upon a compass and map. With practice and using my summarised notes taken from this book I think in the future the compass will become a nicety not a necessity.

A book written from passion and experience, an enjoyable and interesting read even if you do not intend to navigate by natural means. It would also serve people well who have an interest in how earlier genrerations and 'the primitives' navigated around the world prior to these inventions that we have become so reliant upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars finding your way without a compass, 24 July 2009
By 
Keith Miller "cutter" (Northampton,U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
the information in this book will be useful to any navigator weather they be a pilot salor walker. I have advised many outward bound youngsters not to rely soly on electronic gadgets such as GPS, or electronic compass. this is because electronics develop faults and batteries go flat at the most impracticable times. for the same reason it is good advice not to rely on a compass as your only way of finding your direction. this book makes you aware of many natural aspects of the environment that can help you become aware of the direction your are travelling by just glancing at your surroundings. I have used the methods in this book to successfully navigate all day hikes in unfamilier areas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated but good., 7 Sep 2011
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
A very good book although prospective buyers should be aware that it was written in the 1950's and can seem a little laboured.
I read this book and then re-read it highlighting the parts that I found to be most practical for myself.
There is quite a section on the types of seabirds found in the tropics etc. These are interesting but not quite practical enough for someone who walks a lot of northern moorland.
If you travel large distances (across continents) then this the book for you but for the reader who wishes for a wealth of local information, look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Wealth of Knowledge on Observing Nature, 8 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
Harold Gatty's career speaks for itself and this book is so comprehensive it must contain almost everything he learned on interpreting those signs of nature that can tell you where you are (location), when you are (season), where you are headed and where you should and shouldn't be going (orienteering/navigating). It covers all environments - from the British countryside to the open sea, the arctic and the desert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating read., 4 Oct 2011
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
A fascinating read for anyone who regularly uses navigational aids and equipment such as map and compass, GPS, etc. While it will not persuade you to abandon these conventional methods for determining your whereabouts, it will provide you with some tips that could prove useful in an emergency. But this book's main appeal lies elsewhere. The content makes the experience of outdooor actvities more interesting and enjoyable through discussion of a wide range of phenomena that provide useful information for navigational purposes and which were no doubt used extensively by our ancestors. For example, we are told how to use our ears and nose to find our way, and how trees, anthills, the wind, the colour of the sea, and the habits of seabirds provide information about direction and location. It has certainly opened my eyes to what is happening around me in the outdoor world when I am hiking or cycling and increased my admiration for how our ancestors managed to navigate the world without the tools that we rely upon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 43 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Appendix to Leslie Green's Review, 29 Oct 2007
By 
J. Noon (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
I entirely support the remarks made below by Leslie Green giving a 5 star rating. If you are looking for Harold Gatty's classic 'Nature is Your Guide', do not make my mistake and buy a secondhand copy of it, plus one of this out of interest: This is a Dover Reprint of 'Nature is Your Guide'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mapless Mapping ?, 15 Aug 2011
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
So,your stuck in some place you dont know the locale well.
You need to find the nearest town/civilisation,HOW?
This book will inform you of your many options when navigating without map or compass or one of them fangled GPS locater thingamebobs.
From using Clouds,Crevices in the snow or sand to animals and birds,this book is informative and friendly to digest.
The Author is a well versed Pilot and Navigator and has drawn on past experiences and those of others of note to bring you knowledge that is essential to the hiker backpacker and hardy traveller.
With Global references and insightful tips this book has outweighed my expectations on the material to be found within it's pages.
Totally recommend this book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating look at techniques that are rapidly being lost to the march of tech advances., 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
Great book with practical techniques from the days before we relied so frequently on tech. I like the variety of techniques that have been developed over past generations for dealing with different terrain and weather conditions in various parts of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All informative and excellent, 19 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass (Paperback)
excellent books I WILL be back for more. keep me informed of similar titles, of the same subject matter.bye, bye
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass
Finding Your Way Without Map or Compass by Harold Gatty (Paperback - 28 Mar 2003)
10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews