Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar Wilde
From the Irish legend and Genius,Oscars famous quotes in the compact book, for anyone who loves Oscars writings you will love this off the uncuff quotes!excellent Erin Go Bragh!!
Published 17 months ago by Alawes

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable
I have always been a great fan of Oscar Wilde's and his witticisms are humorous and unexpected spread about his plays. Perhaps we know them well and perhaps too well. Concentrated in one volume you feel they could be written by a computer to a programmed formula.
Published 10 months ago by Trumpeter


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oscar Wilde, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar Wilde's Wit and Wisdom: A Book of Quotations (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
From the Irish legend and Genius,Oscars famous quotes in the compact book, for anyone who loves Oscars writings you will love this off the uncuff quotes!excellent Erin Go Bragh!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted. A perfect small gift for my sister!, 12 Jan 2013
This review is from: Oscar Wilde's Wit and Wisdom: A Book of Quotations (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
It wasn't for me personally, and I was hoping to get something to make my younger sister read more classic literature. I have been trying to get her to read Dorian Gray for a while and now she finally will!

It was smaller than I expected, but thats fine :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gotto love Oscar!!, 24 April 2010
This review is from: Oscar Wilde's Wit and Wisdom: A Book of Quotations (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I love Oscar Wilde for just being himself and writing because he loves it. This book has got all his witty charm pinned down on its pages. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Words of a master, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A super little book full of amusing and provocative quotes from one of the masters of the one liner. If you likeOscar you'll like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect,, 13 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar Wilde's Wit and Wisdom: A Book of Quotations (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Love the man and his humour. I keep it in my bag and when travelling I read it, always makes me smile
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book of quotations, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice little book. It is nice that the quotes are split up into different sections. Oscar Wilde was an incredibly intelligent man so a book of his quotations is always a good thing to have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic quotes, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A real wordsmith with some fantastic quotes. A recommended read if your are a fan of Oscars wittiness. And great value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Predictable, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always been a great fan of Oscar Wilde's and his witticisms are humorous and unexpected spread about his plays. Perhaps we know them well and perhaps too well. Concentrated in one volume you feel they could be written by a computer to a programmed formula.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Typical Oscar Wild in every sense of the word; funny, witty I enjoyed it and would recommend to anyone, really
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The trouble with youth is that its wasted on young people., 5 Oct 2011
By 
Peter Taylor (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Oscar Wilde's Wit and Wisdom: A Book of Quotations (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This is quite a short book but a 'must have' for any serious Oscar Wilde enthusiast. OW was a highly intelligent and quick witted person and this comes through in his writings and quotations. He is apparently the most quoted Englishman after Shakespear. I'm not totally an Oscar Wilde fan because unfortunately his wisdom doesn't seem to have extended itself into his personal life and behaviour. Nevertheless a great, if somewhat brief read, and you'll come to understand the sense of paradox he so frequently applied to his speakings and writings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oscar Wilde's Wit and Wisdom: A Book of Quotations (Dover Thrift Editions)
1.80
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews