Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jake
I'm not the most advanced philosophy reader so perhaps that's why I didn't enjoy this book too much. Nietzsche is surely a smart man, sometimes it seems too smart for me and the wording seems (to me, at least) a little over the top for what it's trying to say. So my advice would be that if you're not the most advanced philosophy reader, there are probably more suitable...
Published on 20 Sep 2011 by Jake

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TOO RHETORICAL FOR THIS MERE MORTAL
Have really tried with this, but twice I've got as far as page 20 and twice I've read and re-read but got lost in the rhetoric employed by either the translator or by Nietzsche himself. This is a shame as, up until chapter two, with a little active reading, a lot can be got out of the text: the humour and passion of the writer are clearly felt and I really enjoyed...
Published on 9 Nov 2011 by Easily Me


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jake, 20 Sep 2011
This review is from: Beyond Good and Evil: Prelude to a Philosophy of the Future (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I'm not the most advanced philosophy reader so perhaps that's why I didn't enjoy this book too much. Nietzsche is surely a smart man, sometimes it seems too smart for me and the wording seems (to me, at least) a little over the top for what it's trying to say. So my advice would be that if you're not the most advanced philosophy reader, there are probably more suitable books out there and maybe give this a wide birth for now. Although from what I did understand, it was very interesting.

Essentially, it's quite difficult in parts to understand if you aren't familiar with philosophy. But that's just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating exploration of Nietzsche s ideas, 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well worth the read if you have the time and inclination to pay real attention to the book, a fine addition to any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the easiest to read, 1 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought provoking - one doesn't have to necessarily agree with Nietzsche's opinions to learn from what he writes. A lot of people may take issue with what he says but I think it's worth a read even though he does, at times, sound more like an angry teenager than one of the most respected philosophers the world has seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book great read, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good book good read for anyone interested in the field of philosophy, no more to say . cut out the minimum word limit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awakening., 28 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Good and Evil: Prelude to a Philosophy of the Future (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
That is the only word to describe this book. It has personally changed the way I perceive the world around me. Its a completely different way of looking at the world, and goes to show that there cannot be one 'truth' in anything, rather all people look at the world the way the truth suits them, as truth is not separate from the individuals self interest. I never thought that a book I am studying at school could have such a profound impact on my life. Wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life-changing, 23 Sep 2004
This review is from: Beyond Good and Evil: Prelude to a Philosophy of the Future (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
As a philosophy student it was compulsory for me to read this book, and soon after starting I realised why the subject is such a joy for me. Beyond Good and Evil is compulsive, written throughout in the acerbic prose and (necessarily) non-linear structure that characterises Nietzsche's writing. Whether or not you agree with his strong, controversial assertions, you will certainly question the foundations of your knowledge throughout. A general knowledge of philosophy is certainly helpful before reading, as the author references, invariably polemically, a good many of the philosophical canon throughout. However, the aphoristic nature of the text also allows for readers perhaps struggling with the text to skip parts without losing too much - Nietzsche's key themes are fairly evident throughout. A staggeringly iconoclastic work essential for anybody interested in philosophy, ethics or 20th century social history in general - Nietzsche's work would go on to have profound influence on Freud, Derrida and Sartre, to name just three prominent followers in the continental tradition. Unreservedly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insights, 20 Aug 2008
By 
C. Harman (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beyond Good and Evil: Prelude to a Philosophy of the Future (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This is a fascinating book, a crucial theme of which is the support for a grown-up way of existance that has sadly been overshadowed by that of lesser minds. Another thread running through the book is the idea of the 'will to power' as the key to understanding our lives. Along the way, we also get opinions on the woman's relation to the kitchen; what it means to be a recluse; flashing criticism of the English, Science and academics; criticism of Kant and other philosophers; a brilliant investigation of the 'master' morality, and just about anything else you could possibly imagine. Nietzsche's use of language is masterful in its creativity, colour, allure and entertainment value. His insights are profound and always accurate (perhaps with the exception of when he is talking about music). Its almost as though he stands outside the discipline of philosophy and is more concerned with retaining his status as a fully paid-up member of the human race. As a result, one feels, he is able to see things more clearly. This really is a wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A free edition with page numbers!, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is of course one of Nietzsche's fundamental texts. What I like about this free Kindle edition is that it has page numbers - Not often found in a free edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars TOO RHETORICAL FOR THIS MERE MORTAL, 9 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beyond Good and Evil: Prelude to a Philosophy of the Future (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Have really tried with this, but twice I've got as far as page 20 and twice I've read and re-read but got lost in the rhetoric employed by either the translator or by Nietzsche himself. This is a shame as, up until chapter two, with a little active reading, a lot can be got out of the text: the humour and passion of the writer are clearly felt and I really enjoyed it.

It's also a shame that I'm unable to get further with it as his influence on much contemporary thought is huge and I really would have liked to hear him setting these foundations, while shattering pre-existing dogmas, in his own words. Unfortunately, his own words are presented in a style I cannot comprehend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very good book, would recommend buyer to freinds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beyond Good and Evil: Prelude to a Philosophy of the Future (Dover Thrift Editions)
4.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews