Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Japanese haiku in a nutshell
The Japanese haiku has a long history. Its 17 syllables appearance may be deceptive for there is a rich tradition of literary allusions behind every poem. This book is incredibly inexpensive and worth much more than its price. The editor has found space for a great number of haiku, including a phonetic transcription of the original, and some brief, pertinent information...
Published on 12 Jan 2003 by Florence Vilen

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality.
Having just finished reading the Tales of Genji, I thought I would try a little Haiku Poetry.

This seemed like a great Introduction to the poetry. The cover is nice and very shinny. The paper of the actual pages is quite poor I am afraid. It clearly says on the back that the paper has been made with re-cycled paper. And boy, can't you tell!

The poems...
Published 16 months ago by Mr. T. Haddrell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

86 of 87 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Japanese haiku in a nutshell, 12 Jan 2003
By 
Florence Vilen (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
The Japanese haiku has a long history. Its 17 syllables appearance may be deceptive for there is a rich tradition of literary allusions behind every poem. This book is incredibly inexpensive and worth much more than its price. The editor has found space for a great number of haiku, including a phonetic transcription of the original, and some brief, pertinent information about some of them.

The choice is well-considered and informative. It begins already with linked verse from the 15th century and ends with the last of the great masters, Shiki, who died one hundred years ago.
Bowers has also chosen to present very different styles of translation, occasionally more than one of the same original. Often you would not recognize them as attempts to render the same poem. There are divergent opinions on how to render haiku into English (or any other Western language) and here the interested reader will find ample material for a well-informed opinion.
This thin and unpretentious book offers great value, both in the presentation of the history of haiku and in the examples of widely divergent styles of rendering it in English. Anybody interested in Japanese haiku could profit from Bowers' anthology and the price makes no strain on the purse.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 10 May 2009
By 
G. Matheson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Many bibliophiles will love the Dover Thrift books for their beautiful (if slightly Kitsch) covers and layout. Often, however, their foreign language books suffer from overly-mannered or archaic translations. This one, however, is an exception. Not only do they offer a phoenetic version of the original, but in some cases they offer several translations. And generally speaking these Haiku translations are very good and convey both the melancholy and the humour that is evident in these miniature masterpieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent anthology, 17 Jun 2011
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This is an excellent anthology sampling the work of numerous poets & covering a wide historical range. It also effectively demonstrates the difference in interpretation which can be produced in translation.
Excellent value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely satisfied with this item, 16 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Not much to say except that this is a fantastic compilation of haiku, with some notes acting as an introduction to the tradition of Japanese poetry as well as alternative translations of some haiku. The cover art is also very quaint and vivid, but I suppose that is a given since it is by Hokusai.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great introduction..., 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This is a really good introduction to haiku for anyone who is clueless (like I was). There is some great, touching poetry in this book, too. Good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haiku anthology, 27 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Thie is a must have for Haiku fans-especially beginners like me. It clearly explains the origins os the classic Japanese haiku-which I didnt realise was so difficult to translate into English. The syllable structure & very subtle inferences & meanings are almost impossible to replicate in English-the syllables are relatively easy, but I find that the peoms can be a bit abrupt in English.
For 1p-(+pp) -brand new its a star buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 19 April 2012
By 
D. Lewis (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This was one of several haiku books I've read over the years and have to say one of the best. Issa, Basho and the rest all covered well plus some more obscure poets. Nice to see how different writers translate so differently too, which is very interesting. Great notes too which adds to the understanding of the poems. Have just published my own haiku collection Haiku which I've been working on for a few years and hope I can add to the genre in some small way and help it continue well into the 21st Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful Haiku, I think!, 17 Nov 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I am no expert on Haiku but I think this is a lovely little book. There is a lot of information, beautiful words and history succinctly put in the 78 pages. It has certainly whetted my appetite for more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The New Master., 23 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
summer garden
slow bees on lavender wind
lift.

Do you see what its got me doing.
I'm lying in bed, reading some 17th century Japanese girls distilled, perfectly formed droplet of sensing of a bird singing and its as clear as fresh air.

Morning rain
My bed is warm and dry
I will sleep a little longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bargain, 16 Jan 2011
By 
K. L. Smith (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Brilliant book, and what a price, lovely cover too. The footnotes to the poems are truly enlightening, they add so much to the overall enjoyment. You would be a fool to miss this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Classic Tradition of Haiku: An Anthology (Dover Thrift Editions)
2.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews