Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterly narrative - ideal for the French learner, 15 Mar. 2012
By 
Doc Barbara (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French) (Paperback)
This selection of the short stories of de Maupassant contains seven of his best and has an excellent English translation on the opposite page from the French. This is a very good way for the relatively advanced student of the language to start reading French literature in the original and there is nowhere better to begin than with de Maupassant. He deals with many aspects of human nature and the narrative is always adroitly paced. Weak husbands and strong women, a man near madness (in La Horla), war are only a few of his recurrent topics, treated with insight and, sometimes, irony. He shows compassion where it might not be expected in "Boule de Suif" and "Mademoiselle Fifi": his bleak outlook is often counterbalanced by an understanding of ordinary people in their harsh environment. The sentences are deftly constructed ( a long, periodic one frequently followed by one that is brief and succinct) and the vocabulary accessible for the English reader: new words stick in the mind in such well-evoked situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, 18 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French) (Paperback)
A mixture of some of the greatest Maupassant stories and perfect for people still learning the language, as the english translation is only on the next page making it easier and more enjoyable to pick up on new vocabulary. Speedy arrival and amazing pricing. Very happy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Guy de Maupassant - short stories, 22 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French) (Paperback)
I can`t say too much, although it seems fairly easily read. I use it intermittently to boost my French studies, so I only pick it up from time to time. I already have several dual-language books and find them helpful. A good waay to build vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for my college course., 22 Mar. 2013
By 
Miss R. Ledner (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French) (Paperback)
I bought this book as it was required for my French a-level and it has proved very useful so far with the translated pages on the right that are in English. The translations are good too, accurate.
Good delivery time and cheap! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dual Language book - what a great idea!!, 28 April 2013
By 
L. Nangle - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French) (Paperback)
Very useful book to allow reader to double check the meaning of a passage, rather than spend ages ploughing through translating - I wish they had dual language books when I did my French A Level!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Muapassant short stories in English and French, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French) (Paperback)
This book is wonderful for two reasons: Maupassant is the master of story writing; besides it is a great tool for language learners as the text is both in English and French.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 1 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French) (Paperback)
A wonderful book by a brilliant writer. The dual text is very helpful with the difficult bits (colloquialisms etc,) but generally I found I could understand most of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars better than the cheap and nasty 'flics' that earlier generations ..., 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much prefer these dual-language books...better than the cheap and nasty 'flics' that earlier generations had to endure if they were to pick up a smattering of argot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good buy, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French) (Paperback)
This was quite good. I will need a bit more understanding of French but I could pick up the story and I will keep it and keep trying to understand it more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French)
Best Short Stories: A Dual-Language Book (Dover Dual Language French) by Guy de Maupassant (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2000)
£10.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews