Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating and uplifting, 6 April 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
In 1901, Booker T. Washington (1856-1915) published this autobiography. Born into slavery, after emancipation, Mr. Washington developed a philosophy that African-Americans needed to sweep away the ignorance that their subservient position had left them with, and earn the respect of the whites through hard work and excellence. In 1881 he founded the Tuskegee Institute to teach African-Americans how to study, how to work hard and intelligently (producing better results than the white businesses of the day), and how to have respect for themselves and others. This is Mr. Washington's story of his youth and his success at Tukegee.
This is a fascinating and uplifting book. Though cognizant of the racism that often surrounded him, Mr. Washington never lost his faith in the basic goodness of the people of all colors that he met. The only problem I had with this excellent book was the knowledge I could not shake, that Mr. Washington's faith was not rewarded, and the white community of the day would not give the African-American community respect and fair treatment.
That said, though, this is a great and wonderful book, which should rightly be considered an American classic. If you want to read a book that is a window on the America of the late nineteenth century, or if you want an uplifting book about a man of faith and love, then I highly recommend that you get this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 17 July 2010
This review is from: Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
An optimistic and inspiring little book - full of hope for a future that took a long time to come about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars INSPIRING, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
VERY INTERESTING TO READ AND SURELY FOOD FOR THOUGHT, YEP THERE'S A REASON WHY THE SANE IS SAID THAT WAY, RESEARCH IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Story., 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I found this book inspirational.

Firstly, it gives a look at what it was like to be a child around the time of the Civil War, when slavery was about to be abolishes. It gives an incite I had never thought about which is how slaves really felt about their masters – it was quite surprising.

I found the book well-written and eloquent.

I found Washington to be a very likable, noble, and innovative character. I really enjoyed reading about all he had done and achieved around this time.

I love books which take you on a journey while teaching you something, so books based on reality of autobiographies or biographies.

This book didn’t disappoint in that regard; it taught me a lot about how things were back then whilst also inspiring me with Washington’s antics of making the world a better place.

I’ve come to admire this man greatly, and will read some of his other works now!

The book is short and I read it in about two days. It was a page Turner and something you can read through easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Book is brilliant if you are interested in Black civil rights or washington, or even studying it! Really good book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic - required reading for everyone, 24 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
A classic - required reading for everyone. This edition is on rather cheap paper ("thrift" edition), but otherwise is fine (and is excellent value for money). .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift), 25 Mar 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift)
So glad I found this book on Amazon, everyone's borrowing it! Arrived in good condition and very prompt delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 28 July 2014
This review is from: Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This book is so so so brilliant - Only God knows why I hadn't read it earlier. Have even ordered copies for friends! An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions)
Up from Slavery (Dover Thrift Editions) by Booker T. Washington (Paperback - 23 Feb 1996)
1.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews