Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty and elaborate, but much easier than you would think
Another crochet book I have managed to get from Amazon after searching elsewhere for a long time. A lovely collection of doilies, bedspread doilies, lace and edgings. I started my first lace edgings using this book and had never followed patterns before using this book and one other book I bought from Amazon. Beautiful and great for crafters who want to make their own...
Published on 4 July 2011 by LindyLoo

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs Experience and You need to work things out
This book sadly is not aimed at anyone who is new to crochet. The patterns are very difficult to follow with little or no explanations as to how to form the stitches. On the positive side, for experienced crocheters, this has some nice, if a little 'old fashioned' ideas. I am sure many of the quilt squares could be adapted into something a little more up to date...
Published on 8 Jun 2011 by Freespirit


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty and elaborate, but much easier than you would think, 4 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Favorite Crochet Designs (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
Another crochet book I have managed to get from Amazon after searching elsewhere for a long time. A lovely collection of doilies, bedspread doilies, lace and edgings. I started my first lace edgings using this book and had never followed patterns before using this book and one other book I bought from Amazon. Beautiful and great for crafters who want to make their own lace for card making, scrapbooking, fashion etc. This book is not just for avid crocheters or even long term crocheters. Such a good price for the amount you get.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Needs Experience and You need to work things out, 8 Jun 2011
By 
Freespirit "bo3ss" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 150 Favorite Crochet Designs (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
This book sadly is not aimed at anyone who is new to crochet. The patterns are very difficult to follow with little or no explanations as to how to form the stitches. On the positive side, for experienced crocheters, this has some nice, if a little 'old fashioned' ideas. I am sure many of the quilt squares could be adapted into something a little more up to date. However, I have to be honest and say that if you enjoy filet crochet and 'antique' designs, there are much better books available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing quality, 24 Jun 2014
This review is from: 150 Favorite Crochet Designs (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
Very disappointed with the quality of the print and pictures on what feels like thin sugar paper. At least it didn't cost too much!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing collection, 4 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Favorite Crochet Designs (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
Amazing collection of vintage patterns for all sorts of things. You dont find these old squares and circles elsewhere, elaborate designs for that finished vintage look. Worth its weight in gold in my opinion! :>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice Suprise, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 150 Favorite Crochet Designs (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I had deliberated whether to buy this as I always think the books from this publisher can look a bit old fashioned. However as it was at a very good price I decided to go for it.
It was a very pleasant suprise when I opened it. There are some lovely designs and the instructions are well laid out and in a very clear print. Although I am no expert at crochet there are some things I can attempt and others I can aim for.
Would recommend this book for any enthusiastic crocheters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a treasury of patterns from the past., 29 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: 150 Favorite Crochet Designs (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
150 Favorite Crochet Designs edited by Mary Carolyn Waldrep, is a treasure-trove of patterns gleaned from the past. All the patterns are made from thread and date bake to the 30's, 40's, and 50's. Many of the patterns can be easily adapted by today's modern crocheter. The charted "Eagle and Motto" runner with its' patriotic E PLURIBUS UNUM detail could be the basis for a great 4th of July afghan done in 4ply yarn. Pick out a motif from one of the bedspread patterns and do it up in yarn. Tack it to a tired old pillow for some instant decor pick-me-up. Worked in thread, many individual motifs can be used for snowflakes for a Christmas tree. There are also edgings that can be used to trim baskets and caning jars. Intermediate to advanced crocheters would find this book useful and beginners can easily grow into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Hard to follow, 30 April 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: 150 Favorite Crochet Designs (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I was looking forward to use some of the patterns from this book, but unfortunatly is written in an old fashion way. If you are not familiar with reading croshe this book is not for you.
I was expecting something more for today market such as grafics and other helpful hints which is quite common on todays croshe books. A disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

150 Favorite Crochet Designs (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace)
12.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews