Customer Reviews


20 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An absolutely timeless eye�opener, 10 Aug. 2001
By 
Amazon Customer (Harpenden, Herts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I studied US History at university. Like mmost US history courses, we studied the slave trade and its repurcussions on society and we were encouraged to read DuBois although I never got around to it. I'm glad I picked up this book, which is essentially a group of stories and observations on life 'behind the veil'. I was reading and reading and taking it all in, and then I came to a paragraph in the last chapter asking the question 'would America be as it is today if it wasn't for the negro slave?'. I read this paragraph ten times at least. I have no answer for the questions it poses, but it really sums the book up. This is essential reading. I would heartily recommend it to anybody.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 5 Dec. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Ive read it and re-read it and there still new facets to this book which I discover. Its a great literary book which deserves to be studied in school and discussed by children of all races.The author covers many of the topics and issues of his time and makes his views plain. the third chapter in which he gives his opinion of Booker Washington needs to be read through with a calm, clear mind. Its one of the most important essays ever written by an African american. This £1.90 edition is the best value edition going so you really have no excuses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING, 20 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
SHOULD BE READ BY ALL FOR FURTHER KNOWLEDGE AND BETTER UNDERSTANDING OF A NATION OF PEOPLE WHO HAVE BEEN DESTROYED FROM THE ROOTS AND ROBBED OF THEIR HERITAGE AND ANCESTRAL KNOWLEDGE AND HISTORY BY A WIDE VARIETY OF INVADERS WHO SEEKED TO STEAL RAPE AND DESTROY A PEOPLE AND STILL ARE TO THIS VERY DAY.
PLANT THE SEED AND WATCH IT GROW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The souls of black folk, 6 Aug. 2010
By 
A (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
A must read for someone who is interested in Black and White relations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars inspirational, 11 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Create a great foundation and quoted by many people involved in the civil rights movement of the 1960s.. very inspirational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Deep and insightful, 29 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This deep and insightful expose on the life, trials and tribulations of what it means to be black at the end of slavery and the beginning of the twentieth century is an eye opener. Du Bois invites the reader into an otherwise hidden world of the struggles that black people endured not just at the hand of society, but within their own environment as individuals strive to move themselves from the live they were born into, to achieve their dreams and aspiration of a better life; not just for themselves, but for their future generation.

Although I have not read this book fully, I will continue to dip in and out of it to continue learning more about a time past that has had so much impact on my presence because of the sacrifice and endurance of those gone on before me.

I would highly recommend this book to anyone who is serious in learning more about the history of the ex-slaves and their contribution to society; even if most of that contribution is unacknowledged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT, 28 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This book is so so so brilliant - Only God knows why I hadn't read it earlier. Have even ordered copies for friends! An excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This must is a must have read for anyone interested in Black civil rights or studying it! Really really good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very intuitive, detailed and analytical. A story of ..., 27 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Very intuitive, detailed and analytical. A story of hardship, horror and the struggle for existence from a negro's perspective. Kudos to W.E.B Du Bois.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 16 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Excellent book from an insightful mind. Thoughtful and well ahead of it's time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions)
The Souls of Black Folk (Dover Thrift Editions) by W. E. B. Du Bois (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2000)
£4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews