Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


174 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Emerson...
Containing some of the best Emerson essays (Self-Reliance, History, Nature, Divinity School Address, Experience) this attractive little book from Dover is apparently subsidised by people who believe you should have Emerson practically for free. How right they are. In fact Emerson should be on the National Health Service. Easier to read than almost any other great...
Published on 20 Mar 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting.
I've seen lots of quotes by the author that I have always found to be very thought-provoking and profound. However, I am finding this piece hard going. It meanders all over the place without much point. Disappointed.
Published 2 months ago by I. Reid-Knightley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

174 of 178 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Emerson..., 20 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Self Reliance (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Containing some of the best Emerson essays (Self-Reliance, History, Nature, Divinity School Address, Experience) this attractive little book from Dover is apparently subsidised by people who believe you should have Emerson practically for free. How right they are. In fact Emerson should be on the National Health Service. Easier to read than almost any other great thinker ancient or modern, Emerson is a magnificent prose stylist and, as the epigraphs show, not a bad poet. An absolute joy: if you've ever wondered why Columbus bothered, Emerson alone would be enough to justify America. If you haven't read Emerson before...Go on, treat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Reliance (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Great book, refreshing to read and opens your eyes to nature and the beauty of life. Hard to understand at times so has to be re-read but you will not be dissappointed after reading this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 19 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Reliance (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I've loved Emerson since my university days, so I had to own this collection. Buy it and see why he's one of the best writers of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I was expecting., 7 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've seen lots of quotes by the author that I have always found to be very thought-provoking and profound. However, I am finding this piece hard going. It meanders all over the place without much point. Disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 28 Oct 2013
By 
Mr S G GROSSET-JANIN (barcelona, catalunya, ES) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Self Reliance (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
this was a very inspirational piece of literature. Very well written and filled with many practical examples.
Will highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Service, 18 May 2009
By 
A. Low (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Self Reliance (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
The book was in excellent condition and arrived very quickly. I would highly recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Self Reliance (Dover Thrift Editions)
Self Reliance (Dover Thrift Editions) by Ralph Waldo Emerson (Paperback - 1 Feb 1994)
£2.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews