Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining
I have found that this dictionary can serve a number of purposes. It can sit on your bookcase and look interesting, you can read it (in which case you'll probably burst out laughing on occasion) and you can learn parts of it to use as wit in conversation.
The last is the most entertaining and this book is packed full of wit (or maybe just honesty).
So buy it,...
Published on 13 Dec 2003 by A. Peters

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chuckle
The wit flows freely from this volume, and is sharp and astute. It's good for a laugh and, best of all, so cheap. Just the sort of thing you need when you're less than a pound away from qualifying for free shipping.
Published on 10 Feb 2004 by Daniel Barrett


Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly entertaining, 13 Dec 2003
By 
A. Peters (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil's Dictionary (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
I have found that this dictionary can serve a number of purposes. It can sit on your bookcase and look interesting, you can read it (in which case you'll probably burst out laughing on occasion) and you can learn parts of it to use as wit in conversation.
The last is the most entertaining and this book is packed full of wit (or maybe just honesty).
So buy it, and buy it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars definitely an entertaining and provocative reading, 4 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Devil's Dictionary (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This book is actually as devilish as it looks. I have burst into laughter many times while reading it. The definitions are really creative and shows that the author was very good at observing everything going around him. It tells the truth about the meaning of words, but always with a sense of humour, which they deserve. This dictionary is very entertaining, provocative and, yes, realistic. Mr.Bierce is not afraid to say what the others would not and that is always something I like in an author. It is physically thin but mentally thick, that is, it will provoke you to reconsider the definitions you have in your mind. It is both fun and an eye-opener. Probably the most entertaining dictionary in the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diabolically witty, 29 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Devil's Dictionary (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This famous book, though not to everyone's tastes and certainly not PC, is a gem. Written over 100 years ago, it is a compilation of definitions which originally appeared in an American newspaper. Some are long-winded or now obscure, others will offend, but many are wonderfully funny. A cabbage, for example, is defined as' a familiar kitchen-garden vegetable about as large and as wise as a man's head'. This is a must buy for the broad-minded and at a ridiculously low price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chuckle, 10 Feb 2004
This review is from: The Devil's Dictionary (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
The wit flows freely from this volume, and is sharp and astute. It's good for a laugh and, best of all, so cheap. Just the sort of thing you need when you're less than a pound away from qualifying for free shipping.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Still devilish, 27 Nov 2011
By 
Stephen Hudson "Steve Hudson" (Keynsham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil's Dictionary (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
This is a faux-dictionary of tongue-in-cheek definitions of everyday words and phrases. In each case the definition pricks a popular conceit, or reveals the unspoken truth. this book is brimming with cynicism and world-weariness, and it's all the better for it.

Written in the early years of the last century, some of it has inevitably dated, and other barbs are these days less than totally clear. But there is still lots to enjoy. Some conceits and injustices are timeless. For instance, the topical concept of 'Riot' - 'A popular entertainment given to the military by innocent bystanders.' Or that for 'Painting' - 'the art of protecting flat surfaces from the weather and exposing them to the critic.'

This is a cheap and cheerful edition, and while it's not an object of beauty, it makes for an excellent toilet book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Honest review, 25 May 2008
By 
Mr. Peter M. Gater (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Devil's Dictionary (Dover Thrift Editions) (Paperback)
Got this to read from my other half. Its kept in my library, a small collection of books in my toilet. When I'm sat on the throne its great companion whilst i'm in the process of losing my digestive transit. I'm not able to go into great detail about the book. I don't have the vocabulary. But it's a bloody good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Devil's Dictionary (Dover Thrift Editions)
The Devil's Dictionary (Dover Thrift Editions) by Ambrose Bierce (Paperback - 1 July 1993)
2.54
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews