Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiendish
Do not read this book before starting work or less than 4 hours before going to bed. Once these puzzles get hold of your brain, it's no use for anything else. Keep the book in a locked drawer and only get it out when you have several hours to spare.
They start off easy, but soon escalate to the point where you swear the puzzles must be misprints and there is some...
Published on 19 Feb 2002

versus
83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the more able Mathematician, this is a truly great book!
This review is not intended to tell you lots about the book, only about who the book is aimed for. I bought this book with the expectation that it would have lots of puzzles suitable for the "average Joe", or there abouts and would require some level of Mathematical thinking so would be nice, light hearted practice for my students ( I am a secondary school maths teacher)...
Published on 16 April 2005 by Hania


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

83 of 85 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the more able Mathematician, this is a truly great book!, 16 April 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
This review is not intended to tell you lots about the book, only about who the book is aimed for. I bought this book with the expectation that it would have lots of puzzles suitable for the "average Joe", or there abouts and would require some level of Mathematical thinking so would be nice, light hearted practice for my students ( I am a secondary school maths teacher). The level and style of the puzzles varies, but the majority of problems are aimed at those who are capable of attaining grade A at GCSE Mathematics and it does have some fairly complex solutions. The layout of the book is also fairly old fashioned. It was first published in 1971 and the font and presentation is in line with what you would expect of a book published at that time. If you are looking for puzzles involving a higher level of mathematical thinking and a variety of styles of problems however then this book does suit this purpose.
In summary, this book may be great or fairly useless, depending on for what purpose it is wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


57 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fiendish, 19 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
Do not read this book before starting work or less than 4 hours before going to bed. Once these puzzles get hold of your brain, it's no use for anything else. Keep the book in a locked drawer and only get it out when you have several hours to spare.
They start off easy, but soon escalate to the point where you swear the puzzles must be misprints and there is some information missing. Eventually, you turn to the answers and kick yourself black and blue. When you know one answer, you think the next puzzle will be easier. It isn't - each one needs a completely original mode of thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Making Maths and Logic Fun, 21 Mar 2010
By 
V. Levy "Vernon Levy" (Leeds UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
I first purchased this book as a Pelican edition when I was teaching mathematics in high schools. It contains a lot of puzzles which are suitable for dishing out to pupils as a homework or as a time filler for the faster workers. The current version on offer here is like one of the cheaper American reprint house versions - the typography and illustrations appear to be inferior to the version that I originally had. I repurchased the book for personal entertainment and its entertainment value is just as great now as it was when I first purchased a copy over twenty years ago. I still give out the occasional puzzle to members of my tutor group and they are usually well received. The current book is a bargain. I'm sure that I paid something close to the current price for my original copy.

Puzzles range from number based ones e.g. Use the nine digits 1-9 and plus and minus signs to make a total of 100 through geometric puzzles i.e dividing shapes into equal amount using the minimum number of cuts through to logic based ones that appear to need some complex maths but can be solved by using common sense and simple arithmetic. It's not a book that will convert that maths averse but will draw in those whose interest can be kindled by the repackaging of maths into a puzzle format.

There's something for everyone in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for the mathematically curious., 19 Oct 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
As a 7th grade math teacher, I use problems from this book
to supplement my gifted pre-algebra classes, and to provide
a challenge to my math teams. Superb book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ideal to take on holiday, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
perfect collection of puzzles
will take on hols and probably complete only 10 per hol
but a real good mix of puzzles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cerebral workout!, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
Great puzzles, thankfully with solutions! This is full of "old" puzzles, some of which I knew already under different names. It was interesting to see the originals...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good puzzles, some familiar, some new, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
Some of these puzzles will be well known to regulars, but there are enough new ones to keep the interest up. And some of the later ones (which do get quite mathematical) are not easy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and Inspiring, 2 Dec 2011
By 
E. J. Line "Elliott" (Coventry, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
I have had this book for several years now, and I often revisit it. It is crammed full with many interesting mathematical quirks and curiosities. Boris Kordemsky's puzzles are full of character and charm. The collection is edited by Martin Gardner, who was a great populariser of mathematics for many years and has probably inspired many mathematicians working today. It was this book, and others like it that inspired me to write my own collection of puzzles Very Clever Puzzle Compendium Vol 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a childhood favourite, 23 Nov 2008
By 
Dr. M. Tranter "counterforce" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
I have just ordered a copy of this book to use with my kids. I had it when I was growing up and loved it. It's a real classic. Buy it - you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Different, 22 Jan 2008
This review is from: The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math) (Paperback)
Because it is based on a russian/soviet book, the names and some factual information might be different to what one is accustomed to. However, the puzzles are excellent, at varying degrees of difficulty, and had me going back time and time again to re-read and re-solve. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Moscow Puzzles: 359 Mathematical Recreations (Dover Recreational Math)
14.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews