Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars8
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
1
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2010
The book wile quite well written Lacks what is most needed for the Novice, Which is detailed step by step pictures of the knots and rope work being formed. It is however of use as a memory refresher for someone who has learned to knot and splice but hasn't used those skills for a long time.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2012
Mainly for yachtsmen, I think, but full of useful information with detailed drawings for all Knots. Useful projects. A little old-fashioned as written in 1953, but still useful and pertinent for today's sailors.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2010
This book is more of a reading than an visual instruction book. Where there are diagrams and instructions, they are excellent, and content of the writing is very useful and practical. I prefer The Marlinspike Sailor, his other book. Both are American, and feel pleasantly ancient in 1950s sort of way. I like the references as to how to smoke a pipe and create decorative knots! Slightly Boy Scoutish!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Black and white with little in the way of showing how to do the knots. I was very sorry I purchased this book as I know there are better illustrated and easier to follow books on the subject for the same sort of price around... if you can find them,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2014
I am new to sailing, and this book is full of sound practical advise. Superb illustrations. More for those who enjoy sailing for itself rather than for the competition freaks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2015
Excellent reading and information.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2016
good clean book and on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2014
Just what I required thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.