Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every other Satie piece you could ever need
The most wonderful thing about Eric Satie's pieces is that they have such childlike simplicity. This book has many short pieces that you wouldn't normally find elsewhere, such as the 'Pieces Froides' and the 'Genuine Preludes for a Flabby Dog'. As an added bonus, it has Satie's most famous and beautiful pieces, the 'Gymnopedies' and three of the 'Gnossiennes'. Most of the...
Published on 15 Mar. 2002

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good quality printing, very poorly thought out layout & usability.
Note: I prefer ring bound (best) or thin stapled books (ok) compared to music books with a thicker spine like this.

PROS:
Clear printing, nice quality paper. Spacing and size of the print is large and easy to read.

CONS:
The thicker spine + binding format made this quite a pain to use, turned pages refuse to stay open and start flipping...
Published 6 months ago by Voracious Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 58 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Every other Satie piece you could ever need, 15 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
The most wonderful thing about Eric Satie's pieces is that they have such childlike simplicity. This book has many short pieces that you wouldn't normally find elsewhere, such as the 'Pieces Froides' and the 'Genuine Preludes for a Flabby Dog'. As an added bonus, it has Satie's most famous and beautiful pieces, the 'Gymnopedies' and three of the 'Gnossiennes'. Most of the pieces don't require great ability in the piano, but are suited to every kind of piano player, from maestro to beginner, simply because they are so beautiful. This is an absolute must for any piano player who has passed the basics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satie, 7 Mar. 2010
By 
Mr. EDWARD W. BADGER "G3OZN" (Worksop Nottinghamshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
What can one say about Satie and his piano music?
It is deffinately not easy to play well, it looks relatively easy to the more experienced pianist on the sheet, but to get the nuance and real flavour is a task, but a task well worth tackling.
It sure grows on one, it has me!
A nice album well laid out and very clear, well worth having.
Give it a try!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good quality printing, very poorly thought out layout & usability., 11 July 2014
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
Note: I prefer ring bound (best) or thin stapled books (ok) compared to music books with a thicker spine like this.

PROS:
Clear printing, nice quality paper. Spacing and size of the print is large and easy to read.

CONS:
The thicker spine + binding format made this quite a pain to use, turned pages refuse to stay open and start flipping closed, and the curve towards the center makes reading music difficult. Really kills the piano maestro buzz when you're frantically trying to flip the page to keep it open whilst not missing a note.

The notations for the Gymnopedies is also really inefficient I feel, where it splits the chords on the left hand into 2notes on the bass line, and one on the treble line, making the sight reading of chords far more difficult and laborious than needs be. WHY?!

The page layouts are pretty silly as well. All of the Gymnopedies (and some of the Gnossiennes) are on average laid out on 4 pages, but all start on the right hand page. Meaning you get one page, need to turn for another two pages, then turn again for the last page. It would have been far more efficient for the pianist if it was laid out in 2x 2page spreads, so you only need to turn pages once per song. Whichever designer/ printer laid out this book clearly did not spend any time on considering usability.

CONCLUSION:
This is going in the JUNK corner of my bookshelf, as I've found better sources online for more sensible music sheets that I can print out and lay out to my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Collection, 23 Sept. 2011
By 
Andrew C. Mitchell (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
There is an excellent variety of the works of Erik Satie, from the early to the late revealing many of his foibles. The price is right. The collection is suitable for a good intermediate player and is very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano, 11 Sept. 2013
By 
A. Cooke - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
I already play Gymnopedie One,from the Kenneth Baker- "Complete Piano Player book five" However...the Eric Satie book has the full versions of this...plus the second and third version. It may however represent a slight challenge, which is good. Examples of this - your right hand plays a cord...and the LH - the low bass note - sometimes your LH hand will move higher up the piano - the cords are open - the interval/span is impossible to play in RH only; so both LH/RH will be needed to play those spans... therefore its all about fingering. You'll need to read the music, than quickly glance down at the piano keys...and back to the music- without loosing your place. Great stuff and beautifully haunting...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty great, 26 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
There were significantly more pieces in the book than I expected and the translations of Satie's directions are really helpful. My only qualm was that the gnossiennes and gymnopedies we're spread out over around four pages each whereas condensing them to two pages. (as I've seen done before) prevents page turning which breaks the flow of the piece. Otherwise a great edition, superb music (naturally) and really generous quantity for the low price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Really cheap, nasty paper, 22 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
I hate leaving a bad review for Satie. The content is wonderful, it's the paper that's at fault. It's the sort of paper you get in really old, really cheap paperbacks. In no way would this stand up to even small pencil marks and you would never be able to rub them out without going through the paper. It would also tear really easily. I have no idea why they would choose to publish it like this. I have had to return it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paiano pieces, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
Wonderful pieces. we have played each of them with great pleasure. A real good value. Thank you for such a wonderful piece of piano book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars piano and me, 31 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
I am not a pianist - its decades since I last played - but my son has shown some ability in the few months that he has been playing. Having bought a piano for the family to enjoy, I was looking for pieces that might extend him a little. These pieces worked very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful tunes, 15 Jun. 2013
By 
E. Crisp - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano (Paperback)
love this book, so many lovely pieces and I love the Satie describes how you should play them at the bottom of each page, very funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano
Gymnopedies, Gnossiennes and Other Works for Piano by Erik Satie (Paperback - 31 May 2002)
£14.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews