Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile buy for its price
This book is worth buying simply due to the fact that it's so cheap. It isn't the best of books on Greek grammar, but it does manage to get a lot of important information in. Obviously, when you're dealing with a subject as irregular and complicated as Greek grammar, you can't expect too much from a book of its size, so it's surprising to find there's actually quite a lot...
Published on 29 July 2005 by JR Anderson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so modern greek
I am happy enough with this grammar book but my greek friends are telling me that it is out of date now.
Published on 9 Jun. 2010 by JES


Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 60 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worthwhile buy for its price, 29 July 2005
This review is from: Essential Modern Greek Grammar (Dover Language Guides Essential Grammar) (Paperback)
This book is worth buying simply due to the fact that it's so cheap. It isn't the best of books on Greek grammar, but it does manage to get a lot of important information in. Obviously, when you're dealing with a subject as irregular and complicated as Greek grammar, you can't expect too much from a book of its size, so it's surprising to find there's actually quite a lot in there. If you're new to the language, or you need a small book to carry with you for reference then this will serve its purpose well. If you're wanting a more detailed grammar, I'd recommend 'Greek: An Essential Grammar Of The Modern Language' by David Holton et al.
A word of warning- this book was written in a time when a different accent system was used in Greek. The language hasn't changed but accents have been greatly simplified since then.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars With A Few Qualifications A Good Book, 2 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Essential Modern Greek Grammar (Dover Language Guides Essential Grammar) (Paperback)
This book covers all the fundamentals of Greek grammar: nouns, adjectives, personal pronouns, verbs, etc. It does break down these areas in a logical fashion in just under eighty pages plus a glossary on grammatical terms. Knowing the information in the book will definitely help you decipher the language. The Greek lettering is tiny so read in a good light. Also, there are many sections that exist as a series of rules (rule applies in cases when preceded or followed by these eight or ten letters). That kind of information is difficult to read and even more difficult to remember but perhaps that aspect of Greek can not be simplified or made more palatable. All in all I am very glad I bought this book, and I feel my knowledge of the language was significantly enhanced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not so modern greek, 9 Jun. 2010
This review is from: Essential Modern Greek Grammar (Dover Language Guides Essential Grammar) (Paperback)
I am happy enough with this grammar book but my greek friends are telling me that it is out of date now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Excellent as a print book BUT...., 13 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought the Kindle version of this to replace a lost and well-used print version I had. I would strongly advise against the Kindle version of as some of the Greek language text appears as if a photocopied and pasted snippet. Some of the Greek is actually printed and pasted incorrectly.

However, let me stress that this is an excellent book for those of us learning Greek. It functions well as a ready and easily accessible grammar reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It is our bible, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We have been learning greek for 4 years now and originally had this towards the end of our first year in paperback. Have now bought on the kindle too as it really is essential if you want to grasp the grammar, which is quite essential in learning greek.

Easily understood in plainish english, in logical order using tables wherever possible, making it easier to learn the different versions of words depending on gender, case etc

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Old grammar, 28 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Modern Greek Grammar (Dover Language Guides Essential Grammar) (Paperback)
Very old fashioned compendium. My boyfriend is Greek and told me that many rules and spellings in the book are completely out of date. Greek language has evolved since this book was written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Modern Greek Grammar (Dover Language Guides Essential Grammar) (Paperback)
All I needed to know as a beginner, in clear, accessible form.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Modern Greek Grammar (Dover Language Guides Essential Grammar) (Paperback)
very comprenhesive manual
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Modern Greek Grammar (Dover Language Guides Essential Grammar) (Paperback)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Modern Greek Grammar (Dover Language Guides Essential Grammar)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews