Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent example of old time lace making.
This book is a history of Irish Crochet Lacemaking. It is easy to follow and has the finiest patterns I have seen for advanced projects. It is a very good learning tool. Highly recommended!!!!!
Published on 10 Jun. 1999

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful printing
I just ordered this book and the printing is dreadful, the illustrations look like they are photocopies of photocopies of photocopies. They are all dark and very difficult to see.

The type face is also off putting, and there is a huge amount of text per page making it a very daunting read.

The motifs are pretty, and the techniques are interesting,...
Published on 1 Aug. 2008 by Walnut Baby


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent example of old time lace making., 10 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
This book is a history of Irish Crochet Lacemaking. It is easy to follow and has the finiest patterns I have seen for advanced projects. It is a very good learning tool. Highly recommended!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book but you have to have patience, 4 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I bought this book a while ago. To be quite honest I found it too difficult at first. That was mainly because I couldn't find the key to the vintage terms used.

I have now found that and have also managed to work out other things that help me to work out the patterns, like if you are left handed and she says "start on the left", we need to start on the right. After that the pattern follows in exactly the same way for everyone.

The hardest part to deciphering this book is working out how to crochet over a cord or multiple cords. Can I say, the way you do this is exactly the same principle as when you Double Crochet into a standard ring.

With all of this, I started the first pattern I was interested in, the calyx.

Now the funny thing about this book is, that when the calyx is mentioned first of all, it does not contain instructions, the instructions are in there tho', and to be found about 4 pages later.

I have finished making the calyx and I have been able to compare the uppermost pattern of ridges and loops to the image in the book and they are exactly the same!

The pattern is very clear. You stitch over the foundation cord for the first and last rows and in between, you just stitch into previous DCs. Bringing the foundation cord back into the design is VERY CLEARLY EXPLAINED, e.g. you DC around it, to pull it back into place before you start the next part, where you need it again. Yum, yum!

The pattern is very clear:
Plain Stitch = Double Crochet (US) Single Crochet (UK).
Single Stitch = Slip Stitch
etc.,

If you are going to attempt the calyx, what I will add is that when she says 'skip first DC', then on the next row she doesnt say that, you take that to mean you should stitch into the first DC on the next row. In other words, do the obvious, unless she tells you NOT to!

P.S. I dont mind if you'd like to contact me about this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful printing, 1 Aug. 2008
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I just ordered this book and the printing is dreadful, the illustrations look like they are photocopies of photocopies of photocopies. They are all dark and very difficult to see.

The type face is also off putting, and there is a huge amount of text per page making it a very daunting read.

The motifs are pretty, and the techniques are interesting, there are traceable patterns at the end of the book to allow you to create your own lace using the various techniques described in the book. So if you are not put off by voluminous text and do not require clear diagrams this book could be a useful addition to your craft library, however I have found that other books are clearer and easier to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its ok, 28 Jan. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
The softback may have its faults in the way its hacked togeter but it does the job that it was made for nothing gloosy just a book that works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars quite hard to follow the pattern specially for beginner..but other then that very interesting book, 16 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I kind of expected more from this book. I guess it needs more experienced crocheter. I really wanted to start with Irish crochet, but its quite difficult for me to follow the patterns from this book. I would also appreciate some graphs patterns. But overall really interesting book with black and white pics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Oct. 2009
By 
Mrs. V. J. A. Cook (West Sussex; England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
Whilst this type of book can only ever be a re-hash of what has gone before, most of its contents are available from other sources. Additionally, charts are not included for all the designs illustrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Lace., 14 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
The clear instructions given in this book has given me the confidence to try this skill myself. The results are beautiful without spending a fortune on materials needed. Even a flower on a collar can be made quickly, whilst learning the history of the Lacemakers, their life and craft. A truly inspirational journey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 28 May 2014
By 
paperlace (South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
This book is amazing with beautiful patterns and clear instructions. However it does assume prior knowledge so is not suitable for the complete beginner. It is suitable for those experienced in more advanced crochet patterns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars In over my head, 28 April 2015
By 
Canuck (Birmingham, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
beautiful designs though instructions are a bit unclear for a novice. The English is also a bit ancient to I find myself giggling and being distracted. Oh well, perseverance will overcome, I hope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Master piece, 14 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Masterpieces of Irish Crochet Lace: Techniques, Patterns, Instructions (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
This is for the dedicated and experienced. The designs are intricate and varied. Beautiful but delicate. The correct yarn must be used. Lots of heirloom pieces .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews