Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps a bit dated, but great fun to make!
I remember using this book when I was a child. Dad and I used to spend hours and hours in the garage making things. Yes, some of the projects are a bit 'dull' to us adults, but will still get a sense of achievement from the children - I loved making every one of them! and yes, the measurements are in inches, but this is only a minor disadvantage and wouldn't take long for...
Published on 6 Feb. 2010 by Rosemary Taylor

versus
50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could do better
This book is very clearly written and illustrated but shows you how to make very dull things.
For example to make a birdbox it suggests that you start by finding a wooden box!
The projects look as though they are designed for children to complete unaided but I'm sure if you're like us woodwork is a hobby to be shared by dad or grandad with the younger generation.
Published on 17 Oct. 2002 by Mrs. A. R. Slater


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could do better, 17 Oct. 2002
By 
Mrs. A. R. Slater "anaslater" (Colchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) (Paperback)
This book is very clearly written and illustrated but shows you how to make very dull things.
For example to make a birdbox it suggests that you start by finding a wooden box!
The projects look as though they are designed for children to complete unaided but I'm sure if you're like us woodwork is a hobby to be shared by dad or grandad with the younger generation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps a bit dated, but great fun to make!, 6 Feb. 2010
By 
Rosemary Taylor (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) (Paperback)
I remember using this book when I was a child. Dad and I used to spend hours and hours in the garage making things. Yes, some of the projects are a bit 'dull' to us adults, but will still get a sense of achievement from the children - I loved making every one of them! and yes, the measurements are in inches, but this is only a minor disadvantage and wouldn't take long for mum or dad to translate into cm if required. I certainly won't hesitate in using this with my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Carpentry Projects for Children, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) (Paperback)
Bought for my son who likes to create things out of wood. Have3n't made anything as yet but nice to have suggestions of what to make and more importantly have to achieve that. Bought for Christmas for him to compliment real child's tool set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book for kids, 9 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) (Paperback)
my 7 year old grandson bought an empty toolbox and declared "i am going to be a carpenter", he has since collected tools from his father and grandpa when he saw this book he was overjoyed .the content is excellent for a junior and he has already completed several projects from the book, it is brilliant value for money and easily understandable for youngsters. well done with this product, it cost no more than a throwaway comic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good book., 8 April 2011
This review is from: Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) (Paperback)
I have been told that my 5 year old would benefit from building some wooden crafts so I ordered this book. It is well laid out with some very simple but useful things to make. The instructions are very clear and I feel confident that we will manage to work our way through making all the different things in this book. Brilliant introduction to wood work projects!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Clear concise woodwork techniques for kids but many projects very ..., 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear concise woodwork techniques for kids but many projects very dated. 1950's entertainment values and household items differ somewhat to today. Of the 12 projects 3 will be of any use to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars old fashioned, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) (Paperback)
too difficult for 8 year old - bit frustrating - tricky projects with lots of parts needed to make them. Would have liked something really simple to get started.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept of Dads working with Children, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) (Paperback)
Good simple projects but diagrams were in my opinion a little out of date and limited to 'dads'. Would have liked to see pictures suited to youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Present, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) (Paperback)
Arrived in good time and good order... son thrilled with it... hasn't used any of the plans yet... but sure it will be well used. Thank;you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) (Paperback)
Well produced with good use of graphics to help build items

will provide many hours of pleasure and enjoyment for grandson
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books)
Easy Carpentry Projects for Children (Dover Children's Activity Books) by Jerome E. Leavitt (Paperback - 2 Jan. 2000)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews