Customer Reviews


114 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (33)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


211 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a beginner.
I'm just beginning in this craft and found this book a great one-stop solution to get going. The instructions are clear and simple (basic instructions about quilting at the beginning) and the line-drawing patterns, which make up the bulk of the book, are easy to follow. Each pattern details how much of each kind of material you will need (they don't prescribe colours,...
Published on 20 Jan 2004

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good for a complete novice
A bit disappointing, its more like a magazine. There are three pages of Introduction at the begginning, but the next twenty nine pages are examples of designs. I would not recomend this for the BEGGINNER!!. If you need a 12" plastic template then I would say go for it.
Published on 18 Jan 2012 by jayjay


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

211 of 211 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for a beginner., 20 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
I'm just beginning in this craft and found this book a great one-stop solution to get going. The instructions are clear and simple (basic instructions about quilting at the beginning) and the line-drawing patterns, which make up the bulk of the book, are easy to follow. Each pattern details how much of each kind of material you will need (they don't prescribe colours, just suggestions for "bright", "dark" and so on) and says how many squares you will need to put together to make a quilt. Also, the plastic patterns in the back of the book (you will need a stanley or craft knife to cut them out correctly) mean you really don't need to buy anything else to get you going. I can also imagine the patterns alone are useful for anyone who already knows what they're doing, and just needs new inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patchwork made easy, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Paula Ward "Hearth Witch" (Milton Keynes England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
This book is easy to use and the templates are a great way to start you off. If you want a book that is simple to understand and gives you a range of patterns to follow that are easy to use then this is the book for you. The templates are easy to cut out and to use.
Not a book of how to do everything to do with patchwork, but one that introduces you to easy patchwork quilt patterns that are all made using the templates provided.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


137 of 140 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful for beginners!, 27 Dec 2003
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
I bought this book because of the plastic templates inside, and it has shown to be very useful. I'm a beginner, and all the patterns in the book are very clearly shown. The plastic templates can be used again and again, to all kinds of projects you want to make.
I think every beginner should buy this book together with an instruction-boook in patchwork. Then you have the templates and the patterns to use for almost every project you want that you might find elsewhere.
I'm using it as a base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 27 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
this is an excellent book for a beginner I used it a lot and have now loaned this book to a friend who is new to quilting the only trouble I have is getting it back .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Patchwork made easy, 16 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
Tghe book is just what i needed and all the blocks are 12", fantastic. Good value too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patchwork quilt patterns, 5 April 2010
By 
Roy Wilkinson (West Midlands UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
Small book self-explanetary easy to follow. 27 different designs, gives detailed instructions & measurements. Comes with a set of plastic templates which were very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars patchwork for beginers, 13 Nov 2009
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
This is an ideal book for beginers, with clear instructions an templates easy to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy patchwork quiling, 2 July 2009
By 
Mrs. Valerie Shepley (Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
I bought this book when I first started quilting because it has templates you can use to make many many quilts.
I used it to make a quilt with a lot of different patterns in because the blocks can be cut to come out the same size.
I found it very very clear and easy to use, the templates are sturdy and the instructions detailed.
Good beginners book that even an experience quilter would use again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars useful for beginners & cost effective, 22 Dec 2011
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
This book is ideal if you have a bag of bits of fabric & fancy a go at patchwork, it is cheap & explains enough to get you started & keep you going for a while. If you are the sort who buys all the equipment (rotary cutters, mats, & custom picked & matched fabric no expense spared) then it is not for you, after all you will probably buy a much more comprehensive book if you are willing to spend that much. The templates are not designed for use with a rotary cutter, but if you just want to try quilting then you wouldn't buy all the kit would you?
I bought this when I had very little money available & a bag of scraps & made my first quilt plus a couple of cushion covers, plus some dog quilts & cat ones before I moved onto a more sophisticated book & started buying materials from posh quilt shops. My quilts turned out lovely, the templates were especially useful as I was using scraps & I found the guidance about light colours, bright colours etc very helpful & the results were lovely squares which everyone admired. The squares are the standard 12" which is good, the names given are the traditional ones for the patterns, & the techniques section covers all you will need to make a quilt or hanging. All you need to know is basic sewing skills & have a bit of imagination.
I have given this book 4 stars because it is limited in its range of suggestions, it would have been nice if it had had more pages but as a primer in patchwork it is excellent. It is the best value for money I have come across, as if you find that patchwork is not for you all you have lost is the cost of a magazine or a pattern sheet from a quilt shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good for a complete novice, 18 Jan 2012
By 
jayjay (Staffordhire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Traditional Patchwork Quilt Patterns with Plastic Templates: Instructions for 27 Easy-to-Make Designs (Dover Quilting) (Paperback)
A bit disappointing, its more like a magazine. There are three pages of Introduction at the begginning, but the next twenty nine pages are examples of designs. I would not recomend this for the BEGGINNER!!. If you need a 12" plastic template then I would say go for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews