Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A technicians book
I bought this for a friend who is a professional jewellery designer and gemologist. She is always seeking inspiration and has a love for art nouveau design. The illustrations are detailed and in black and white which suited her needs. If you are looking for a book which has lots of colour plates, this probably isnt the one for you. But,if like my friend you are in the...
Published on 14 Sep 2011 by Tiffany Aching

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Illustrations
Having read the other reviews I was in two minds as to whether or not to buy this book but decided that as it was not too expensive I would get it. I know that the reviews said the pictures were only black and white and this led me to think they might be design drawings rather than photographs but I was, sadly, mistaken. The pictures are all monochromes of grey and the...
Published 20 months ago by Book Maniac


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing Illustrations, 19 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 305 Authentic Art Nouveau Jewelry Designs (Dover Jewelry and Metalwork) (Paperback)
Having read the other reviews I was in two minds as to whether or not to buy this book but decided that as it was not too expensive I would get it. I know that the reviews said the pictures were only black and white and this led me to think they might be design drawings rather than photographs but I was, sadly, mistaken. The pictures are all monochromes of grey and the pictures are not that clear. Furthermore, the page and illustration numbering are somewhat chaotic and it is difficult to work out which item is which from the given list, which does not give any description of the jewellery construction, e.g. set with pearls/enamelled/gold/silver etcetera and because the pictures are all monochrome it is difficult to tell what embellishments have been used. There are some very attractive jewellery designs which would be useful when planning on making your own work but as the plates are not sharp it is difficult to see how the design lines are formed. There are a lot of repetitive types of jewellery, especially hair ornaments that are quite similar. It is not clear which pictures are of rings as the angle of the photograph is insufficient to show the circular nature of the rings and the detail is somewhat blurred. All in all, a disappointing book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A technicians book, 14 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 305 Authentic Art Nouveau Jewelry Designs (Dover Jewelry and Metalwork) (Paperback)
I bought this for a friend who is a professional jewellery designer and gemologist. She is always seeking inspiration and has a love for art nouveau design. The illustrations are detailed and in black and white which suited her needs. If you are looking for a book which has lots of colour plates, this probably isnt the one for you. But,if like my friend you are in the business of design it is excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite, 6 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: 305 Authentic Art Nouveau Jewelry Designs (Dover Jewelry and Metalwork) (Paperback)
I love art nouveau. The curves, the use of animal and plant elements, the way the style crosses categories and can be used just as sucessfully for rings and umbrellas, book covers and brooches. All this is plain to see in this book. Starting with the inside front cover the plates are full of exquisite, detailed designs, fantasies in metal. Turn of the century design is still gorgeous today, and modern bio-mech designs owe as much to art nouveau as they do to Giger's aliens. Take a look, wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Art Nouveau Jewellery Designs, 11 Sep 2013
By 
Ms. Susan A. Cordes (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 305 Authentic Art Nouveau Jewelry Designs (Dover Jewelry and Metalwork) (Paperback)
I was disappointed with this book as only contained design photo plate images, no written detail at all or information regarding the design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 305 Authentic Art Nouveau Jewelry Designs (Dover Jewelry and Metalwork) (Paperback)
Interesting collection of designs. I would like to see better defined draws. However, the designs are fantastic and represent quite well that period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great for inspiration, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 305 Authentic Art Nouveau Jewelry Designs (Dover Jewelry and Metalwork) (Paperback)
this little book has lovely illustrations of designs from yesteryear they have given me some ideas for some drawings I want to do and some jewellery making ideas. a worthy buy for my collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Source book, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 305 Authentic Art Nouveau Jewelry Designs (Dover Jewelry and Metalwork) (Paperback)
A good book for inspiration and research. I would use it for an example book for students in either jewellery or costume for theatre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

305 Authentic Art Nouveau Jewelry Designs (Dover Jewelry and Metalwork)
£6.56
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews