Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid basics
This book presents the craft in a way that's easily approached. It leads you though the basics of choosing and preparing wool, using a drop spindle, using a wheel, plying and caring for your yarn, as well as a description of different fibers. Everything is explained in very clear language, and although there aren't any fancy photos, the drawings are clear and to the...
Published on 2 Feb 2009 by Gaupe

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting... although not particularly inspiring...
Having read through and used several books on spinning techniques and projects I found this to be somewhat outdated and uninspiring. Although the information is correct I personally found it to be quite biased regarding the author's preferred method of spinning and there is very little information that i had not read elsewhere in more detail. As an advanced beginner and a...
Published on 27 Jan 2011 by Sealy6


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid basics, 2 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: The Whole Craft of Spinning: From the Raw Material to the Finished Yarn (Paperback)
This book presents the craft in a way that's easily approached. It leads you though the basics of choosing and preparing wool, using a drop spindle, using a wheel, plying and caring for your yarn, as well as a description of different fibers. Everything is explained in very clear language, and although there aren't any fancy photos, the drawings are clear and to the point.

This book also contains must-know info such as how to BAKE your own spindle and how to spin milkweed or dandylion into yarn.

All in all, if you're trying to understand this craft but are overwhelmed by the vocabulary, this book will see you through it safely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Spinning Basics, 9 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: The Whole Craft of Spinning: From the Raw Material to the Finished Yarn (Paperback)
This is a fantastic book if you want to know the basics of spinning; don't buy this expecting to learn about spinning fancy yarns and full colour photographs. Instead, expect to know about the history if spinning, different wheels and spindles, in addition to valuable information about preparing fleece, choosing the right wool, finishing yarns and some pointers one how to spin unconventional fibres such as pet hair, hemp and even human hair!
An absolute must for a hand spinner!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The lights are on, 17 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Craft of Spinning: From the Raw Material to the Finished Yarn (Paperback)
Great book with lots of information about spindle or wheels - very useful diagrams, I have to admit I have been spinning for a while, but did'nt know the names of all the bits of my wheel, I do now!!! Lots of useful information about spinning and how to get the best results, fleece, a bit about everything really. Very useful and a book that I will probably use time and again. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Whole Craft of Spinning, 13 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. S. Renwick (Pagham, West Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Whole Craft of Spinning: From the Raw Material to the Finished Yarn (Paperback)
This is a great book for the beginner and those with some knowledge, it is very easy to read and has clear descriptive instruction which helped me develop my skill
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spinning book, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Craft of Spinning: From the Raw Material to the Finished Yarn (Paperback)
Yes this is exactly what I was looking for - I'm new to subject so this was very helpful. good quality. Good quick delivery too. Thank you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Interesting... although not particularly inspiring..., 27 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Whole Craft of Spinning: From the Raw Material to the Finished Yarn (Paperback)
Having read through and used several books on spinning techniques and projects I found this to be somewhat outdated and uninspiring. Although the information is correct I personally found it to be quite biased regarding the author's preferred method of spinning and there is very little information that i had not read elsewhere in more detail. As an advanced beginner and a very keen spinner the only thing that this book was really useful for was cross referencing with other guides to ensure that I completely understood the various techniques but I would not have been confident learning solely from this book. For both learners and experienced spinners alike I would personally recommend either 'The Intentional Spinner' or 'Spin Control' as a reference guide as they are both more in depth and useful for all different types of spinning...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Does not live up to the title, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Whole Craft of Spinning: From the Raw Material to the Finished Yarn (Paperback)
The only good thing about this book is the diagram of a treadle spinning wheel. I don't like being negative about someone's hard work writing any book, but this really doesn't live up to the title. It gives a short history re spinning and this is ok, but the technical parts need a lot of work to really be useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 28 Mar 2014
By 
Peter Mactaggart (Somerset England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The illustrations were so small that I couldn't read the names of the parts. Otherwise it covered the field well, and was a useful introduction that enabled me to look at other books that dealt with parts of the subject in greater detail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic spinning book, 19 Dec 2013
By 
J. Mcewan (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this is the one to get, a bit old fashioned but still very useful. this will get you started and take you beyond.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars goo d first spinning book, 10 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being very new to spinning, I wanted a book that gave basics in an easy to use format, this book was ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Whole Craft of Spinning: From the Raw Material to the Finished Yarn
6.88
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews