Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Insight!!!
This review refers to the hardcover edition.
Imagine what it would be like to peer into a small opening and seeing wonderful treasures that no one has seen for thousands of centries. This book gives you the first hand account of the most famous Egyptian archeological discovery of all time. The description of the treasures will send chills down your spine. Read...
Published on 28 April 1998

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen
The overall condition of this book was just okay. While the book is intact, the edge of the pages at the bottom is covered with a black substance that has dried in.
Published 8 months ago by cormac duggan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Insight!!!, 28 April 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt) (Paperback)
This review refers to the hardcover edition.
Imagine what it would be like to peer into a small opening and seeing wonderful treasures that no one has seen for thousands of centries. This book gives you the first hand account of the most famous Egyptian archeological discovery of all time. The description of the treasures will send chills down your spine. Read about the evidence discovered that indicates ancient grave robbers were caught in the act of plundering Tut's tomb. The book gives an excellent account of opening the sarcophogus and examining Tut's mummy. I recommend this book to anyone interested in Egyptian archeology. The color plates in the book are beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking!, 8 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt) (Paperback)
i cant even imagine what it must have felt like for Howard Carter when he peered in through the small hole and by candle light saw the contents of the tomb of Tutankhamen. probably the finest discovery in all history for the artefacts discovered.
this book is like a diary from the start of the digging to the just when just after the tomb has been opened and the contents are being catalogued.
would recommend this book to anyone with even a faint interest in egypt or history in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Mar 2007
By 
Mrs. A. M. Chadwick (Darwen, Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt) (Paperback)
I have been to Egypt, the first time was in 1993, and I made my mind up that I'd like to study Egyptology.

Although in my second year of studying Egyptology, during my first year I came across this little book. Although it wasn't one of the study books I was required to read I decided to purchase it.

This is a great book, Howard Carter even though a novice Egyptologist in some respect due to his training had the feeling he'd find Tutankhamen tomb, and through persevering he did. It's great to read his words as he wrote them. :-)

I'm really sorry that my own country didn't recognise him and give him any special awards. Howard Carter did something no one else could, I admire him for all his Egyptology work that he ever did.

I found this book informative, interesting and enjoyable to read.

Whether you are studying Egyptology or just want a little more knowledge then this is an excellent book.

It makes an excellent edition to my little Egyptian library, which now stands at nearly 1000 books on this subject. :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars justthefirst volume, 30 July 2013
By 
Julie Cutler - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's a great book, which should be taken with a little caution (technically these were treasure hunters and not that different from the locals with their traditions of tomb robbing dating back to...er well the construction of the tombs). However this is just the tantalising first volume, chapters 1-11 the opening of the sealed door. There is a second volume by another publisher available, but that is a copy of an early edition without the full contents of the excavation. I'm still stuck with the fuller Century Publishing dead tree format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful insights into Carter, the man., 12 Aug 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt) (Paperback)
I have studied Egypt for many years and just happened upon this book. What I found inside was a completely different man than what I had expected. His love for his work, his humility in the face of great celebrity, his reverence for the dead boy king are touching and uplifting. How fortunate is history that two men such as Howard Cater and Lord Carnarvon were entrusted with this amazing discovery and how generous of the Metropolitan Museum of Art to send a photographer of Harry Burton's abilities to record all of this for us. I wish I could find a biography on Carter, for he is a complex and fascinating man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THIS BOOK WAS EXCELLENT, 18 Feb 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt) (Paperback)
This book was really good.If you have researched on the pharoh Tutankhamen you already know the man who first discovered his tomb was Mr.Howard Carter.Since this book was published before Carter died some time ago you can understand how he himself wrote this book.this book is very informative Carter explains what happened from the begining of the discoverey to the end.this book even tells some of the untold curses of King Tutankhamens tomb.This was a great book I would recomend it to anyone who has ever wonderd what it is really like
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Find of the Century, 22 Jan 2008
By 
J. Chippindale (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt) (Paperback)
I remember in the 1960's reading the original books (2 volumes) that were published by Howard Carter not long after he had finished cataloguing the extraordinary finds from the tomb. Although all the photographs were in black and white they showed beautiful objects, the like of which had never been seen before and promoted a "Tutankhamun fever". This passion for all things Egyptian influenced interior decoration and even the architecture of the time. It is easy to understand why people were so passionate. These were objects that also increased my own love of the history of the Ancient Egyptians. It also aroused my interest in deciphering and understanding hieroglyphics.

One can get a feel from the book, about what it must have been like to gaze into the confines of a space made by other human beings many centuries ago. To see objects and to wonder about the skill and patience of the people who had made them, sometimes with the most rudimentary equipment and yet we are unable to replicate them in this modern scientific world.

Everything that was in the tomb was there for a purpose, either to assist Tutanhamun to get to the next world, or to be of use to him when he arrived there. It is impossible to envisage what it must have been like to discover the tomb. In fact it was only Carter's determination, some would say bloody mindedness that uncovered a tomb that many eminent Egyptologist's of his day said did not exist. His backer Lord Caernarvon had been ready to give up the franchise months before, but agreed to give Howard Carter one last try.

There have been several documentaries in recent years that seem to go out of there way to discredit Howard Carter. Some allege that he had entered the tomb a long time before the official opening and had removed some of the wonderful objects for himself. It seems to me to be too easy to make accusations against someone who can no longer defend himself. Carter was a well respected Egyptologist and why he should do anything to jeopardise his reputation is beyond my belief.

This book is a must for the avid enthusiast of all things Egyptian. Even for those with only a passing interest in the Egyptian Pharaoh's and Tutankhamun in particular, the book is still worth a place on the bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Spoiled a little due to the - for me - over long forward and preface . However Carter's enthusiasm really comes across. His detailed explanation of artefact recording and preservation reveals how much work and effort went into handling each item. Today we would have laptops , phones ,computers laser scanning and other tools . Then it was hand drawn sketches painstakingly drawn maps , floor plans and objects photographed for scale and position , the pictures themselves being developed in another room in the tomb now serving as a darkroom! This tomb along with many others suffered at the hands of grave robbers , the broken door seals evidence of the damage. The inner burial chamber was however intact and you can almost anticipate the the tension as the first light in over several thousand years fills this tomb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillianr read, 14 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt) (Paperback)
More history different from that taught us at school 60+ years ago. Wonderful to read the original report of this 'Dig'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars History, 11 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt) (Paperback)
Excellent read. Though the copy I had, had a different cover.
A good intoduction, to make you want to read and learn more
on the subject matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt)
The Discovery of the Tomb of Tutankhamen (Egypt) by Howard Carter (Paperback - 2 Jan 2000)
10.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews