Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hardcore folk for musicians
This book is full of musical staves, one for voice and two for piano. All the words are written underneath the staves. This is not a complaint, merely an observation so other would-be purchasers know what to expect. So there I am, doing Every Good Boy Deserves Football working out the notes to transfer to tab.

It is possible a lot of the piano accompaniment...
Published on 23 Oct 2010 by the new strummer

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good
I was expecting words for 100 songs. Poor reproduction of a book which had been scanned Word recognition, but not proofed.
Published 10 months ago by John J Crown


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hardcore folk for musicians, 23 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Hundred English Folk Songs: For Medium Voice (Dover Song Collections) (Paperback)
This book is full of musical staves, one for voice and two for piano. All the words are written underneath the staves. This is not a complaint, merely an observation so other would-be purchasers know what to expect. So there I am, doing Every Good Boy Deserves Football working out the notes to transfer to tab.

It is possible a lot of the piano accompaniment can be translated effortlessly to guitar, I will give it a go...

The other thing I feel worth mentioning is the "notes on the songs" tell you, amongst other things, what mode the songs are in if they are not something akin to the "major" key. The three other modes that the songs are in are Mixolydian (9 songs, some only partly Mixolydian), Dorian and Aeolian (between them about half the songs in the book). This might be a bit much for those only used to major and minor. It will be doing an injustice to reduce modes to the following but I'll do it anyway:

Mixolydian shares the same notes as a "normal" major key except the 7th is flattened, so in G there is no F#, but an F.

Dorian and Aeolian are both quite like a "normal" minor key, the difference is the 6th: in Dorian it is major and in Aeolian (commonly thought to be the same as a "normal" minor key) it is minor.

This is why the notes on the staves have some natural signs, eg key signature has one sharp like a G major (or E minor) but every F has a natural sign next to it, which really means it is G mixolydian, the same as all the white notes on the piano but starting at G.

The thing is, a lot of hardcore folk music is actually quite challenging, it is not as easy as a pop song in a major key, that can be accompanied I IV V etc (although many folk songs can be that easy to get along with).

I'm sure some smart person out there will correct my little knowedge with some of their own modal knowledge...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More please, 20 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. Simon Burgess "Music Aware" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Hundred English Folk Songs: For Medium Voice (Dover Song Collections) (Paperback)
this book of songs not only enhances the collection I have already but provides me with more versions of songs I already have. Many of these songs I find both historically interesting and musically interesting. It is almost a book on the social history of the UK. Only shame Sharpe isn't as widly known as he was last century or we'd have more of his work published.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Folk Songs, 20 Oct 2009
By 
H. Ottaway "Artmusic" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Hundred English Folk Songs: For Medium Voice (Dover Song Collections) (Paperback)
This is a lovely collection - loads of folk songs collected by Cecil Sharp - lots of them from Somerset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original and best, 29 Feb 2008
By 
W. Black "Bill Black" (Scarborough UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Hundred English Folk Songs: For Medium Voice (Dover Song Collections) (Paperback)
This is THE book that started folk singing as a recreation in the UK.

It also has all those old tunes you remember from 'Country Dancing' if you went to school in the UK in the sixties.

A must for every song collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars contents, 2 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. J. V. Massey (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Hundred English Folk Songs: For Medium Voice (Dover Song Collections) (Paperback)
I was seeking certain folk songs, which unfortunately were not in the book.
A contents list (copy of the index)would have been very useful.
I took a chance when I ordered the book.
However no complaints about the product which was in as new condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still as good now as ever, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Hundred English Folk Songs: For Medium Voice (Dover Song Collections) (Paperback)
Lots of folksongs here which we still know today, and lots which we don't and deserve to be sung more! I love the arrangements that Cecil Sharp puts with them, though some people might say they're too complicated and over-the-top for such simple melodies. He writes a history of each song, as far as he knows it, which is really interesting, especially the for ones which are connected. Sometimes more than one version of each song is given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gift, 6 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Hundred English Folk Songs: For Medium Voice (Dover Song Collections) (Paperback)
This was a gift to a local folk singer & Morris Dancer. Cecil Sharp collected a big repetoire of songs from our town so the book was of special interest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not good, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was expecting words for 100 songs. Poor reproduction of a book which had been scanned Word recognition, but not proofed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars No music nor lyrics, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The description & previous reviews said it had music and lyrics, which is what I wanted, it didn't no good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 1 Sep 2014
This review is from: One Hundred English Folk Songs: For Medium Voice (Dover Song Collections) (Paperback)
Good condition, subject matter quite comprehensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Hundred English Folk Songs: For Medium Voice (Dover Song Collections)
£20.83
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews