Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What an interesting book!, 12 July 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
They don't make books like this anymore. If you are at all a serious or aspiring-to-be serious knitter, you should get this book. Lots and lots and lots of different knitting stitchs are explained here. Very useful if you want to try out a different rib pattern, for example, or you are making some steps towards designing or personalising a knitting pattern. It does a similar job to the big Vogue knitting stitch directories, but it does it in a much smaller format, and in black and white (and much more cheaply. Please note that this is a facsimile edition and the quality of the photos is not nearly as good as in modern books, ut the diagrams and illustrations are clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars treasure trove, 13 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful little book, at first it could look plain and daunting to beginners but you may find that you understand more than you think you do as it explains many things that are so interesting in such an accessible way. You do really need to read it all if only to be sure not to miss anything. I love it so much that I have ordered the reprint of her other book and one of the reviewers for that comments that the information contained would have been padded out with pictures had it been done today. Someone else commented that they didn't buy this because it didn't have colour pictures but it doesn't need them because it contains lots of real information and isn't really giving you a pattern to blindly follow which is where pictures can come in handy I find. This gem gives you proper explanations that enable you to know what you are doing for yourself and experiment bravely and creatively. My favourite piece is for a pair of socks in twisted rib - no heel turning required, I am about to have a go as I have started to knit lovely thick socks to an Elizabeth Zimmerman pattern and they were so easy that I want to add to my sock repertoire. I am not a hugely experienced knitter but this book gives me the information to experiment with. It isn't as hard as I thought to step away from using standard patterns. And they really don't make books quite like this any more, so pleased that it's still in print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns, 5 May 2003
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I have a first edition [1938]but use the unabridged,unaltered republication of the [1943]edition still!i find the glossaries of the French and german terms very useful for foreign publications.It is also very good for those long forgotten stitches such as the corrugated stitch that can be made into fabric.I love it best though for the Garden Plot Square [which goes back to the early nineteenth century]and is still the best counterpane pattern for white knitting that I know of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mary thomas's expert knitting, 17 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
This book is excellent but not one for a quick scan through. It is quite technical and offers expert advice and instuctions on many aspects of knitting and garment construction
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns, 5 May 2003
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
I have a first edition [1938]but use the unabridged,unaltered republication of the [1943]edition still!i find the glossaries of the French and german terms very useful for foreign publications.It is also very good for those long forgotten stitches such as the corrugated stitch that can be made into fabric.I love it best though for the Garden Plot Square [which goes back to the early nineteenth century]and is still the best counterpane pattern for white knitting that I know of
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Diamond, 19 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
Buy this book and you need no more.... at least for year. So many patterns to knit or crochet and time travelling back in time at the same time. Sometimes I had difficulties to understand only written patterns ( no charts) but I succeeded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must have book, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
Classic, must have, book. Lots of history in this book. A great research tool that is invaluable to the serious fabric crafter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very helpful, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
Like it's companion book, Mary Thomas's book of Knitting, the original was published years back, but it's still a very helpful essential book for anyone who knits. If you want to change the stitch pattern of something you are making, or just looking for a different stitch to use on say, a scarf, this is the book to help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars lovely patterns but could do with some photos., 4 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
There are some lovely stitch patterns in this but it could really do with updating with the help of some photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good reference book, 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace) (Paperback)
Well presented and not hard to follow. Quite good diagrams and very useful. Have used several of the patterns. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mary Thomas's Book of Knitting Patterns (Dover Knitting, Crochet, Tatting, Lace)
£9.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews