Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very 'Handy' book!
This is a superb little book to have around the studio at all times. Although there are one or two better books on the subject of drawing this most difficult of body parts (Burne Hogarth's 'Drawing Dynamic Hands' is the best), there is nothing to match this one for sheer value for money.
While Bridgman's illustrations are a little sketchy for my taste, you can't...
Published on 23 Mar 2004 by Tex

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Book of EXTREME Hands...
This book would be fine if only they would show hands in normal positions. Almost every hand in this book is posed in a crazy, contorted, almost deformed manner. As if the models were in a state of either extreme panic, rage, or paranoia. Meanwhile the fingers and knuckles are all very boney ~ almost to the point of being creepy.

There are some good sections...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by Coffee Catholic


Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Very 'Handy' book!, 23 Mar 2004
By 
Tex (Hyde nr. Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book of a Hundred Hands (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
This is a superb little book to have around the studio at all times. Although there are one or two better books on the subject of drawing this most difficult of body parts (Burne Hogarth's 'Drawing Dynamic Hands' is the best), there is nothing to match this one for sheer value for money.
While Bridgman's illustrations are a little sketchy for my taste, you can't beat the sheer convenience of having a book containing one hundred different hand positions around when you need a quick reference for a particular hand position...and all for under a fiver. What more do you want? A chocolate cover?
Great illustrations, good, informative text, a handy size, and great value for money. What are you waiting for?
Buy this book now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, well studied and unfussy, 17 Jan 2010
By 
R. aidley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Book of a Hundred Hands (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
I love this book, it's one of the most used in my studio. I periodically return to it and either read it or work from it, and each time I find some new subtlety of how our hands are constructed, and how they look.

The detail is incredible - not so much in the pcitures themselves, which can tend toward the sketchy - but in the range, accuracy and depth of observation by the author. Highly recommended.

I have to mention, simply because my fellow reviewer has named it, that I consider this book to be superior to Hogarth's work. Although Hogarth's is still worth owning in addition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Useful book ..., 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
.... nice drawings; v handy when u can not get frequent access to live-posed hands. photos do not work for me in the least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of a Hundred Hands (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
The item arrived on time in great condition, furthermore the book is exceptional
for any artist out there, digital or not since George bridgman had a great way of showing visual rythm.
Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Book of EXTREME Hands..., 7 Jan 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of a Hundred Hands (Dover Anatomy for Artists) (Paperback)
This book would be fine if only they would show hands in normal positions. Almost every hand in this book is posed in a crazy, contorted, almost deformed manner. As if the models were in a state of either extreme panic, rage, or paranoia. Meanwhile the fingers and knuckles are all very boney ~ almost to the point of being creepy.

There are some good sections for explaining how the hands and arms and wrists torque. But I think that's the ultimate problem here... the author sure does love his torque!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of a Hundred Hands (Dover Anatomy for Artists)
The Book of a Hundred Hands (Dover Anatomy for Artists) by George B. Bridgman (Paperback - 2 Jan 2000)
8.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews